development news

A Former Soldier Brings His Experiences to YLS *Recipient of the Elliott Goldstein Scholarship*

DAN DRISCOLL '14 grew up in the mountains of North Carolina where he attended public high school. He graduated from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill with a degree in



Business Administration in 2007 and attended U.S. Army Officer Candidate School. After finishing Ranger School, he was stationed at Fort Drum, N.Y., with the 10th Mountain Light Infantry Division where he served as a Cavalry Scout Platoon Leader for twenty-three months. Once he completed his military commitment, which included a deployment to Iraq, Driscoll spent the next six months working for Opportunity Nation, a Boston-based not-for-profit.

At the Law School, Driscoll has been involved with the Veterans Clinic and the Prosecution

Externship at the United States Attorney's Office. He received a grant last summer from the Law School to travel to Guantánamo Bay, Cuba, to be an official observer. "It was fascinating getting to see the other side of some of our military actions in Iraq and Afghanistan," he says of the experience.

Driscoll spent the balance of his 1L summer interning for the Senate Committee on Veterans Affairs and Chief Judge Alex Kozinski on the Ninth Circuit. He is spending his 2L summer with Cravath, Swaine, Moore in New York City and London, and also with Robinson, Bradshaw & Hinson in Charlotte, N.C.

As one of the leaders of the Yale Law Veterans student group, Driscoll has been involved in starting a "soldier adoption" program with 190 currently deployed 10th Mountain Division soldiers from his old unit. (See page 10.)

A recipient of Yale Law School's Elliott Goldstein Scholarship, Driscoll is thankful for the financial assistance and credits it as part of the reason he has been able to attend Yale Law School. "Yale Law School is possibly the only place in the world where you can safely explore so many different intellectual areas," he says. "And the people are amazing!"

Development Office Gains New Leadership

MARY BRIESE MATHERON joined the Law School this spring as Associate Dean for Development, overseeing all of the Law School's fundraising efforts. Matheron came to YLS from the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees Public Sector Fundraising Unit. Prior to that, she was Executive Director of Development at Georgetown University Law Center.

"Mary will bring great strength and experience to the Development Office," Dean Post said about her appointment. "As a senior administra-

tor at Georgetown, she led their development team for more than eight years, generating philanthropic support from individual donors, corporations, and foundations. A former college-level women's basketball coach at Georgetown, Mary is known for her leadership and team work, as well as for her superb judgment."

Matheron is excited to meet Yale Law School alumni during her travels. She welcomes alums to contact her at mary.matheron@yale.edu or 203 432-1664.



The 2013 Goldman Scholars Dinner, honoring Lillian Goldman, donor of the Lillian Goldman Perpetual Scholarship Fund, was held on April 9. Twenty-three Goldman Scholars joined Dean Post and members of the Goldman family, including Amy Goldman Fowler, Cary Fowler, and Dr. Ben Lewis.



Yale Law School Fund Board

Officers

Honorary Chair Oscar M. Ruebhausen '37*

Chair of the Board Michael A. Varet '65

Vice Chair of the Board Glenn M. Reiter '76

Former Chairs

49–53	Archie E. Albright '48*
53-55	Roswell L. Gilpatric '31*
55–57	Langdon Van Norden '40
57–59	Roy H. Steyer '41*
59–61	Elliott E. Vose '50*
61–63	John C. Jaqua, Jr. '43*
63-65	Herbert J. Hansell '49
65–67	T. Girard Wharton '28*
67–69	Andrew Y. Rogers '37*
69–71	Robert T. Keeler '39*
71–75	L. Homer Surbeck '27*
75–77	Donald L. Medlock '50*
77–79	Walter T. Skallerup, Jr. '47
79–82	Charles T. Stewart '43*
82-84	Mitchell J. Cooper '48*
84-86	Joan M. Hall '65
86-90	Ernest Rubenstein '53
90-92	Sidney H. Stein '72
92–94	Patricia Geoghegan '74
94–96	William Lee Frost '51*
96–98	Roger S. Aaron '68*
98-00	Cynthia M. Jacob '66
00-02	Barry R. Bryan '55
02–06	Robert Todd Lang '47
06-08	Curtis H. Barnette '62
08–10	Gandolfo V. DiBlasi '78
10–12	Lynn K. Neuner '92

General Members (2014) John M. Barkett '75 Charles E. Hepner '68 Nancy Kestenbaum '90 Paul S. Mandell '98 Margaret H. Marshall '76 Rhonda J. McLean '83 John R. Regier '76 Carl L. Reisner '78 David W. Rivkin '80 Gretchen Craft Rubin '94 Yolanda I. Villamil-Davis '81 Carolyn H. Williams '78

General Members (2015)

Paul S. Bird '87 Anastasia Boyko '05 James J. Chin '99 Peter E. Fisch '89 William H. McDavid '72 Laura A. Miller '88 Lizabeth Ann Moody '59 Cantwell F. Muckenfuss III '71 Christopher R. Todd '97 Sarah Rosenwald Varet '04

General Members (2016) Lynn P. Consentino '95 Christopher L. DeLong '93 Charles J. Ditkoff '86 Matthew L. Kutcher '01 Daniel B. Levin '02 Felicia Farr Norwood '89 Randal K. Ouarles '84 Joanne Woods Schnell '83 Suzzanne S. Uhland '88

* deceased

Executive Council Lynn K. Neuner '92 Chair, Executive Council

Michael A. Varet '65 Chair, Law School Fund Board

Glenn M. Reiter '76 Vice Chair, Law School Fund Board

Robert C. Post '77 Dean

Mary Briese Matheron Associate Dean for Development

Ex Officio Eric D. Stoddard Director, Annual Giving Programs

Toni Hahn Davis '92 LLM Associate Dean

Victoria A. Cundiff '80 President, Executive Committee, YLSA