ADVISORY BOARD

ADVISORY BOARD TO THE GLOBAL INNOVATION INDEX

In 2011, an Advisory Board was established to provide advice on the research underlying the Global Innovation Index (GII), generate synergies at its stages of development, and assist with the dissemination of its messages and results. The Advisory Board is a select group of leading international practitioners with expertise in the realm of innovation. Its members are from diverse geographical and institutional backgrounds and participate in their personal capacity. We extend our gratitude to all Advisory Board members for their continuous support and collaboration.

We wish to thank Hugo Hollanders, Senior Researcher at UNU-MERIT (Maastricht University) for his contribution to previous editions of the GII as a member of the Advisory Board.

ADVISORY BOARD MEMBERS

Robert D. ATKINSON

President, Information Technology and Innovation Foundation (ITIF), United States of America

Audrey AZOULAY

Director-General, United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)

Dongmin CHEN

Dean, Innovation and Entrepreneurship, and Professor, Faculty of Academy for Advanced Interdisciplinary Studies, Peking University, China

Fabiola GIANOTTI

Director-General, European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN)

Leonid GOKHBERG

First Vice-Rector, National Research University Higher School of Economics (HSE), and Director, Institute for Statistical Studies and Economics of Knowledge (HSE), the Russian Federation

Yuko HARAYAMA

Professor Emeritus, Tohoku University, and Former Executive Member, Council for Science, Technology and Innovation (CSTI), Cabinet Office of Japan

Beethika KHAN

Program Director, National Science Foundation (NSF)

Chuan Poh LIM

Chairperson of the Singapore Food Agency, and Former Chairperson, Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR), Singapore

Raghunath Anant MASHELKAR

National Research Professor, Global Research Alliance, Former Director General, Council of Scientific & Industrial Research (CSIR), and Former Chairperson, National Innovation Foundation, India

Philippe Kuhutama MAWOKO

Executive Secretary, African Observatory for STI, African Union Commission

Sergio MUJICA

Secretary-General, International Organization for Standardization (ISO)

Mary O'KANE

Professor, NSW Chief Scientist and Engineer, Australia

Sibusiso SIBISI

Director, WITS Business School, and Former President and Chief Executive Officer, Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), South Africa

Pedro WONGTSCHOWSKI

Chairperson of the Board of Directors, Ultrapar Participações S.A., Embraer S.A., the Brazilian Enterprise for Research and Innovation (EMBRAPII), and the Brazilian Association of Innovative Companies (ANPEI)

Houlin ZHAO

Secretary-General, International Telecommunication Union (ITU)