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1

INDUS UNIVERSITY

2
Course Name

• Teacher • Dr. Saira Jessani


• Semester • Fall 2022
• Credit Hours • 03

Faculty of Management Sciences, Indus University 3


Digital Marketing / Internet
Marketing
(Importance and Benefits)
What is Internet /
Digital Marketing?

Digital marketing, often known as online marketing, is the promotion of a


brand through the Internet and other forms of digital communication to
reach potential customers. As a marketing channel, this includes email,
social media and web advertising as well as text and multimedia messaging
Importance / Benefits of Digital Marketing in
today's world

• Global reach
• Niche Targeting
• Affordability
• Track able & Measurable results
• A/B Testing
• Personalization
Importance / Benefits of Digital Marketing in
today's world

• Win Customer Loyalty


• Higher Engagement
• Increase social currency
• Survive the competition
Global reach
One of the most important benefits of internet marketing is that
almost all geographic restrictions have been removed.

You can extend your business to other countries and serve


customers thousands of miles away.

You can sell with one click and increase your awareness to people
who would otherwise not know you exist.
Niche Targeting

Niche concentrated on includes best contacting folks who meet your


criteria. This may be executed through using virtual marketing.

You can filter the target market on virtual systems primarily based
totally at the trends that suit your target market after which run ads.
Affordability

We consider this as the biggest benefit of digital marketing. In the


end, all business activities boil down to the money they require. With
the extensive reach offered by digital marketing, the costs are
comparatively affordable and not a burden.
Track able & Measurable results
In our opinion, any company strategy is a waste of time if you cannot
measure your performance. This basically means making efforts in
the blind.
Compiling a strong strategy and implementing it is just half the battle.
Tracking your performance, measuring your success/failure, and
taking corrective steps is the ultimate goal.
With platforms like Google Analytics and Google Search Console, you
can track the performance of your digital marketing campaigns end-
to-end.

That’s how you decide what works best for you and continue those
strategies.
Improved Conversion Rates
In traditional marketing, it is difficult to impossible to find out where
the lead got converted from and thus you may be wasting your time
on the wrong leads.

But with digital marketing, this can be solved by targeting a similar


audience that had the maximum leads converted.
A/B Testing

One of the greatest features of digital marketing is the ability to test 2


different ideas for the same campaign.

If you were running a digital marketing campaign and you are


confused between the creative of the campaign. With A/B Testing,
you can run both the creative to 50-50 of your target audience and
see what performed better.

This way you can finalize your campaign’s creative based on results
and not just your instinct or gut.
Personalization

With the help of niche marketing, you can send out personalized
messages to a similar audience which increases your chances of
converting them into consumers.

Personalization is the key to a consumer’s mind and helping him


remember your business.

Email Marketing is the best form of personalized marketing which lets


you formally communicate with your customers but with a
personalized message.
Win Customer Loyalty

Winning a customer’s loyalty is the ultimate win for a company. They


are the best marketers for your business.

You can retain such valuable customers by sending them out


personalized messages for sales and discounts and coupon codes.

You can also remarket to them specifically with special offers and
promotions. This ensures that they don’t shift to your competitors in
your absence.
Higher Engagement

We’re all well aware of how people are so interactive and active on
social media platforms. This gives a chance to businesses to post
interactive content, engage with their customers and answer their
queries.

Customers love when brands listen to them and respond to them


effectively. They prefer brands that value their voice. Thus, with the
help of social media management and marketing, you can effectively
communicate with potential customers and build your relationship &
reputation.
Increase social currency

Social currency is ultimately the presence that you have on digital


platforms. It somewhat your digital footprint. With the help of digital
marketing, you can consistently increase your social currency, which
means your online presence gets bigger and stronger.

How is this beneficial? With everyone present online, the more you
are visible to people, the higher the chances of your business being
noticed. Which finally brings in more sales.

Thus, increasing your social currency is very important.


DIGITAL
MARKETING TERMINOLOGIES
Key points
01 To make them aware of terminologies used in digital industry

02 Understand digital media communication


Impressions
Number of times a company’s ad will appear to its target audience.
Example of how impressions work: 1 visitor could view 5 pages which
would create 5 impressions. 2 visitors could view 5 pages which would
generate 10 impressions.

Reach
The number of people who saw your ads at least once.
Reach is different from impressions, as impressions may include multiple
views of your ads by the same people.
Keyword
A keyword is word or phrase that your audience uses to search for
relevant topics on search engines.

Keyword Density
Keyword density refers to the percentage of how often a keyword
appears on a webpage in relation to the total words on that webpage.
Search Engine
A program that searches an index of information and returns results to
the user based on corresponding keywords. The most well known search
engines are Google, Bing, and Yahoo.

SERP – Search Engine Results Page


Search Engine Results Page is the list of results provided by a search
engine after a search query is made.
Organic Traffic
This is traffic that is generated without advertising. It’s also known as
“Free” traffic. Organic traffic is the best type of traffic!

Paid Traffic
Paid search is when a company bids on keywords and makes
advertisements around those keywords to be displayed on search
engines and digital platforms. Paid traffic also encompasses any form of
paid advertisement that directly points to your website.
Campaign
A digital marketing campaign is a well-planned and coordinated effort to
promote a product, service, or brand to a specific audience through digital
channels. It entails using various tactics, such as Search Engine
Optimization (SEO), Pay-Per-Click (PPC), social media marketing, email
marketing, and content marketing.

Landing Page
This is the page on a company’s website that is optimized
to act as the entry page to a site. When redirected from
external links, this is where the visitors will be led back.
Subscriber
A subscriber is a person who allows a company to send him/her
messages through email or other personal communication means.

Hashtag
A phrase beginning with the symbol “#” used in social media as a way for
tagging content for users to find. Adding hashtags to a post allows users to
find that post when searching for that topic. This can be used for finding
users looking for broad topics on social media, as well as niche,
detailed topics.
Brand Awareness
Brand awareness refers to the extent of consumer awareness (recalling,
reminding, remembering, memorizing, recognition) of a brand and its
related products. Brand awareness of a brand and its related products are
built through various forms of advertising. Brand awareness is essential in
business marketing practices as it measures the ability of consumers to
remember a brand.

Leads
Lead refers to a potential customer in the sales. The consumer is
considered a lead because he/she has shown interest in the business
or brand. Communication includes a call, online form fill, or
email.
Clickthrough Rate (CTR)
Clickthrough rate (CTR) is the percentage of clicks a campaign receives
relative to the number of impressions. A higher CTR often implies that
campaigns are resonating more effectively with viewers. The formula for
CTR is:
(clicks on a campaign ÷ total campaign impressions) × 100 = CTR
For example, if a given ad campaign has 5 clicks and 500 impressions, the
CTR is 1%: (5 ÷ 500) × 100 = 1.
In Internet marketing, CTR stands for click-through rate: a metric that
measures the number of clicks advertisers receive on their ads per number
of impressions.
Achieving a high click-through rate is essential to your PPC success,
because it directly affects both your Quality Score and how much you pay
every time someone clicks your search ad. Are your click-through rates
holding you back, or are they high enough?
Content
Any form of online media that can be read, watched, or provides an
interactive experience. Content commonly refers to written
materials, but also includes images and videos.
Some examples of content include blogs, emails, newsletters, social
media posts, etc.

E-Commerce
Stands for Electronic Commerce, it is a classification for
businesses that conduct business online. The most common form of
E-commerce business is an online retailer that sells products direct to
the customer.
Lookalike Audience
A lookalike audience is a type of custom audience used in social media
targeting - popularized by Facebook and LinkedIn. It helps you target
audiences with similar characteristics to existing ones. Here’s an example:
Let’s say you have many people
visiting your website. With a
Lookalike Audience, you could
easily advertise to people
similar to your visitors.
A Lookalike Audience uses an existing custom audience that
you select for its source audience. To create a Lookalike
Audience, our system leverages information such as
demographics, interests and behaviors from your source
audience to find new people who share similar qualities.
When you use a Lookalike Audience, your ad is delivered to
that audience of people who are similar to (or "look like")
your existing customers.

When you create your Lookalike Audience, you can use a


percentage range to choose how closely you want your new
audience to match your source audience. The size you
choose depends on your goals. Smaller percentages more
closely match your source audience, but larger percentages
create a bigger, broader audience.
Call To Action (CTA)
Call to action refers to a digital marketing term. CTA is a design that
marketers use to prompt a response from customers. Marketers use CTA
to encourage consumers to take immediate action toward the purchase
of their goods or services.
Buyer Persona
Buyer persona refers to a semi-fictional character or characters used
by marketers to represent different buyer types and scenarios. These characters
are created from market research and real data used by existing customers and
leads. Personas used to represent real type
consumers and customers that might visit
the site, purchase a product, use the product,
etc., in a similar manner. Negative buyer
personas can also be created and used to
describe consumers and customers that
marketers would like to avoid.
Buyer Persona
How well do you know your ideal customers' backgrounds, their
goals, and their challenges? How well do you understand their
interests and needs? Do you know how old they are? Where they went
to school? Whether they have kids? What a day-in-the life looks like?

Without knowing the answers to questions like these, it's difficult for a
business to create an effective strategy to attract, sell to, and delight more of
those types of people. In order to grow, you need to understand your ideal
customers inside and out and integrate that research across entire business.
Creating Buyer Persona
By creating a buyer persona, you will be able to understand:
• The facts about your target market
• What matters to someone who would purchase from you
• The demand for your product
• The potential price points
• Perception on competition
How to Create Buyer Persona
Buyer personas generally include information like
gender, age, location, occupation, family status,
What their pain point is?, What motivates them to
spend money?, etc.

You can consider these categories in at least two


ways:
• Who do you, as the business, believe would be
interested in buying?
• Who has actually bought from you in the past?
Thank You

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