0% found this document useful (0 votes)
11 views4 pages

Gaslands FAQ

The document provides detailed rules and FAQs for the tabletop game Gaslands, including vehicle activation, movement mechanics, collision rules, and shooting procedures. It clarifies how players can activate vehicles, handle collisions, and manage hazard tokens during gameplay. Additionally, it outlines specific scenarios and their outcomes, ensuring players understand the game's mechanics thoroughly.

Uploaded by

Oll
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
0% found this document useful (0 votes)
11 views4 pages

Gaslands FAQ

The document provides detailed rules and FAQs for the tabletop game Gaslands, including vehicle activation, movement mechanics, collision rules, and shooting procedures. It clarifies how players can activate vehicles, handle collisions, and manage hazard tokens during gameplay. Additionally, it outlines specific scenarios and their outcomes, ensuring players understand the game's mechanics thoroughly.

Uploaded by

Oll
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
You are on page 1/ 4

GASLANDS

Fine Points & Frequently Asked Questions - Version 1.00 - 29 September 2017

For reference, the LONG STRAIGHT template is 18cm


ACTIVATIONS long and 3.5cm wide.
May I have a timing breakdown? The turning templates only go one way: can
Sure, see the quick reference card. vehicles only turn right?

Can activate my vehicles in the any order I No. The turning templates may be rotated 180 degrees
choose? to allow for left turns. The swerve and veer
templates can be flipped over to allow for left-wards
Yes. Players are free to choose which of their
motion.
vehicles to activate in any gear phase, should they
have more than one to choose from in any gear Can I move in reverse multiple times in a
phase. single turn?

If other players have fewer vehicles than No. If you STICK-SHIFT UP out of GEAR 1, you can no
me, do I still get to activate all my vehicles longer move in REVERSE, (as you will be in a gear
in a given GEAR PHASE? higher than 1).

SKID CHECKS
Yes. If a player has no vehicles left to move in a
given GEAR PHASE, she must pass. If no other
players have vehicles in high enough gears to Shift Results
activate in a given phase, a player may move If I am left with a SHIFT RESULT that I don’t
multiple vehicles in a row.
need, am I forced to STICK-SHIFT?
Ensure that every vehicle activates exactly once in No. If you roll a SHIFT, you are not forced to STICK-
every GEAR PHASE equal to or less than its SHIFT.
CURRENT GEAR.
May I STICK-SHIFT multiple times in the
If there are no vehicles in (for example) same activation?
Gear 6, does GEAR PHASE 6 still occur?
Yes. You may use multiple SHIFT results to change
Yes. Ordinarily, play will pass swiftly over phases in gear more than once in a single activation. You
which no player has qualifying vehicles, but receive a hazard token for each gear you change up
technically they do occur, allowing players to (for or down.
example, spend AUDIENCE VOTES in those gear
phases.
SLIDE
MOVEMENT If I have selected a STRAIGHT maneuver
template, and I roll a SLIDE result, which way
Is there such a thing as GEAR ZERO? do I end up facing?
Vehicles cannot be in GEAR 0, but Obstacles can. If you SLIDE off of a STRAIGHT maneuver, you may
What size are the maneuver templates choose the direction in which you rotate.
suppose to be? If the application of a SLIDE RESULT during
a SKID CHECK would cause a COLLISION,

1
should I resolve the COLLISION in the middle DICE can cause you to avoid a collision with an
of the SKID CHECK? obstruction.

No. Hazard Results


The SLIDE RESULT changes the FINAL POSITION of If the maneuver I have selected is
your movement step. You move your vehicle into its HAZARDOUS in my CURRENT GEAR, when do I
FINAL POSITION in step 1.7 of the MOVEMENT STEP. apply the HAZARD ICON?
The collision will happen in the COLLISION WINDOW If you have a penalty HAZARD RESULT from
after Step 1.7, before the SPIN results are applied. selecting a HAZARDOUS MANEUVER, apply it at the

Spin Results same time that you would apply any HAZARD
RESULTS that were rolled on your SKID DICE.
If I roll a SPIN result, and rotate myself into
contact with another vehicle, what happens? If I have rolled both HAZARD RESULTS and
SHIFT RESULTS, am I forced to use the SHIFT
If a SPIN places your vehicle in contact with an
RESULTS to cancel out the HAZARD
OBSTRUCTION, a COLLISION occurs. This can be
RESULTS?
used offensively.
No. You are free to choose to apply any SKID DICE
Say I have rolled both SLIDE and SPIN
RESULTS, including SPIN, SLIDE and HAZARD
results. If my SLIDE result causes me to
results. You are not forced to cancel any results
collide with an obstacle, can I use the spin
using SHIFT RESULTS.
result to avoid the collision?

No. The SLIDE result changes where your FINAL


POSITION is (Step 1.7), whereas the SPIN result
SHOOTING
rotates you after you move into your FINAL Once I assign a crewmember to a weapon, are

POSITION (Step 1.8). For this reason the COLLISION they stuck on that weapon for the rest of the

happens in the COLLISION WINDOW after the SLIDE game?

but before the SPIN. No. You can change the assignment of crewmembers

Okay, say I have rolled both SLIDE and SPIN to weapons from one activation to another, as crew

results. If my SLIDE result causes me to hop from seat to seat, or as the driver flips her

collide with an obstacle, can I use the spin attention from the HMGs to the oil-slick droppers.

result to then cause a second collision with a If a crewmember hasn’t been ASSIGNED to
different obstacle? attack with a particular weapon during the

No. As your vehicle never made it into an “unaltered ATTACK STEP, can they still fire?

final position” or a “slide final position”, it does not Yes. If a crewmember hasn’t been ASSIGNED to
get the chance to use the SPIN. See page 14. attack with a particular weapon during the ATTACK

If my selected maneuver would have STEP, then the crewmember may make a HANDGUN

resulted in a COLLISION, but a SLIDE allows attack instead.

me to avoid the obstruction, can I use a When I make a shooting attack, am I free to
SLIDE to avoid the collision? choose any target?

Yes. As you resolve your skid dice before you move Yes. You may select any target in your LINE OF
you vehicle along the maneuver template and into its SIGHT. You are not forced to select the nearest target.
FINAL POSITION, use of a SLIDE result on the SKID
2
What size are the SHOOTING STICKS suppose If I reverse into an obstruction, what
to be? orientation does this collision count as?

The MEDIUM STRAIGHT template is 12cm long, and Head-On. If the active vehicle moved in REVERSE
this is the maximum range of a weapon with MEDIUM during this activation, and the rear edge of the active
RANGE. vehicle strikes the front edge of the target vehicle,
then this also counts a HEAD ON COLLISION.
The LONG STRAIGHT template is 18cm long, so the
maximum range of a DOUBLE RANGE weapon, (when What is the different between a T-BONE and a
both templates are placed end-to-end), is 30cm. SIDE-SWIPE?

If you have a 30cm plastic ruler that is a similar There is no mechanical difference between a T-BONE
width to the maneuver templates, feel free to use that and a SIDE SWIPE. Sometimes special rules will make
if you prefer. reference to one and not the other.

Very occasionally, a weapon will be SHORT RANGE, If the SMASH ATTACK DICE calculation
which uses the SHORT STRAIGHT template, which is results in less than 1 attack dice, what
6cm long. happens?

If I want to make an attack with a DROPPED Your SMASH ATTACK deals no damage.
WEAPON, do I need to assign a crewmember to
If I declare a SMASH ATTACK but roll no
it?
dice, does the target still receive 2
Yes. One of your CREWMEMBERS must be assigned to HAZARDS?
the weapon and use their attack for that activation to
Yes.
drop a DROPPED WEAPON.
What is the CURRENT GEAR of an obstacle?

WRECKS If you have collided with an OBSTACLE, the obstacle


counts as being in GEAR 0.
I got wrecked, and the final slide caused me
to collide with something, what happens? My maneuver template is going to allow m e to
drive head-on into an enemy vehicle. In
If this final slide brings the wrecked vehicle into
order to do the most damage, I’d like to put
contact with another vehicle, immediately resolve a
my foot down and STICK-SHIFT UP before the
COLLISION (and so the wreck is removed afterwards,
collision. Can I do that?
as it is DESTRUCTIBLE).
Yes. As movement along your maneuver template

COLLISIONS and into your final position occurs after the


resolution of SKID DICE, you will usually have had
If a DESTRUCTIBLE OBSTRUCTION interrupts
an opportunity to change gear prior to a collision in
my maneuver and is then removed during
your activation. You will therefore be able use your
the resolution of the COLLISION, can I finish
“new” current gear for calculating attack dice. This
my maneuver once it’s gone, and reach the
encourages drivers who know they are going to strike
end of my maneuver template?
an opponent to put their foot down.
Yes, because after a collision interrupts the
If I have just collided with an obstruction,
movement in step 1.7, you check again to see if the
and then another game effect, such as FLIP
maneuver is still interrupted. See page 17.
or becoming a WRECK would cause me to

3
move again in the same activation, do I If the activities of the WIPE OUT STEP result in
ignore the obstruction that I can currently another vehicle gaining its sixth hazard token, go
touching, even though I didn’t start the ahead and immediately resolve a WIPE OUT for that
MOVEMENT STEP touching it? vehicle during the same WIPE OUT STEP, in
accordance with the Rule Of Carnage.
Yes, just ignore it and cause more carnage.
I just moved in REVERSE, but then I WIPED

WIPE OUT OUT and FLIPPED. What happens?

If I collect enough HAZARD TOKENS to WIPE If a vehicle moved in REVERSE in the activation
OUT during my skid check or during a during which it suffers a FLIP, move the vehicle
collision, can I still continue your turn and directly backwards SHORT, instead of forwards.
making some shooting attacks before I WIPE
OUT?

Yes. As the WIPE OUT STEP happens last in any


activation, if you collect enough HAZARD TOKENS to
WIPE OUT at any point during your activation, you
still continue your turn and attack before you WIPE
OUT.

Two vehicles WIPE OUT in the same wipe out


step: what happens?

If two vehicles WIPE OUT simultaneously, (perhaps


because of a collision), resolve the active vehicle’s
wipe out first, and then proceed clockwise round the
players and resolve in turn.

When a vehicle wipes out, Can I rotate it such


that it is overlapping the edge of board?

Yes. A mean opponent can rotate your vehicle such


that it is overlapping the edge of the table and is
immediately DISQUALIFIED. These people are not
your friends.

Does something special happen if I have


seven or more HAZARD TOKENS?

Nope. If you have six or more HAZARD TOKENS at


the during any WIPE OUT STEP, the vehicle will WIPE
OUT, but nothing special happens if you have more
than 6.

If I FLIP as a result of a WIPE OUT, and this


causes a COLLISION, and this causes another
vehicle to gain its sixth HAZARD TOKEN,
what happens?
4

You might also like