Silent War Update - 09/22/09
[3.14] Rule Addition: It is suggested that the War Mix be re-shuffled every two months, to avoid
the player remembering what units are in which cup. Additionally, the War Mix is re-shuffled as
per the War Mix Table any time the War Period advances [17.1].
[4.0] Sequence of Play: Delete the last sentence under the ULTRA Phase: “If in Empire
Area, add one (+1) to Transit Event check.”
[4.0] Sequence of Play: Change the first sentence of the Transit Movement Phase description to:
15.0 Transit Movement Phase
Submarines that are in the Ready for Sea Box of a base, are outbound to a
patrol area, or are in the Operating section of an OpArea and have an RTB
marker may move a number of OpAreas up to their movement rating.
[13.1] Activity Determination Step: After the existing text, insert the following:
The player may also decide in this step to voluntarily RTB the submarine. If so, place an RTB
marker on the submarine, skip directly to the Transit Movement Phase [15.0] and move the
submarine towards the desired base.
Note: This is the only time a submarine can enter RTB status and conduct RTB transit movement
in the same turn. If a submarine enters RTB status for reasons of combat, event, or endurance, it
is placed in the DONE section of the OpArea.
[14.7] Replace the first bullet under PROCEDURE with:
• If the result is higher than the number indicated, the submarine is marked with an RTB
counter and placed in the DONE section of the OpArea.
[15.22] Replace the first three sentences with:
A submarine may be forced to RTB by a Transit Event, Combat, or by the Endurance Table.
Submarines forced to RTB are flipped to their Transit side and a RTB marker is placed on them.
They are placed in the DONE section of the current OpArea and in the following turn they must
conduct transit movement to any base within range.
[15.25] Rule Addition: Submarines beyond the Range of a Base: Submarines may not move
beyond their range (in OpAreas) to a base. However, some events may precipitate a submarine
being out of range of a base (such as the fall of a base during the early war period). A submarine
that is discovered to be out of range of any base is immediately damaged and must RTB to the
nearest base using normal transit movement at a speed one (1) less than its printed speed (but
never less than one (1)). The crew is operating the boat using long range cruise endurance
methods such as single engine, slow speeds, and such.
[18.3] Replace first sentence with:
Damaged submarines that reach base must roll one die on the Damage Table.
[19.11] Replace the first sentence with:
If a submarine receives an RTB result, the submarine is placed in the DONE section of the
OpArea used to determine the Transit Event check, even if already conducting RTB movement.
[20.5] Replace in its entirety with:
Submarines in an SMZ skip the Endurance check. Unless noted below, these submarines are
marked RTB and placed in the “Done” section of the OpArea from which they entered the SMZ.
[20.51] Submarines conducting the following War Events must enter RTB status and conduct
transit movement in the current turn:
o Fall of Luzon
o Run to Corregidor
o Fall of the Dutch East Indies
[21.1] The reference to Transit Event should be [19.1]
[30.2] BB Yamato entry date should be 5/42 to match the counter and reinforcement lists.
[31.01] Master Submarine Reinforcements List
• May, 1943: Add S-43 to the Return to Dutch Harbor line, after Narwhal.
• December, 1943: Add Tuna to the Withdraw line, after Shad.
• March, 1944: Add Stingray to the Return line, after Grunion.
• October, 1944: Add Halibut to the Return line, after Spearfish.
• March, 1945: Add Bullhead to Pearl Harbor, after Trutta.
• May, 1945: Add Steelhead to the Return line, after Flying Fish.
[31.42] Campaign Game 4 Order of Battle:
• Delete Blackfin from Pearl Harbor.
• The three submarines at Saipan are Ready For Sea.
• Delete Herring and Tullibee from the West Coast Refit Box.
[31.63] Campaign Game VI Submarine Order of Battle:
• Delete S-34 from Submarine Base Manila. She is in the Formosa SMZ.
[32.14] Patrol Destination for Harder's 2nd Patrol is "Empire Pacific”, not “Empire Japan"
War Mix Table: War Period 1 Kaga – not used total is 1. Kaga is only used in the 1932 campaign.
Silent War Frequently Asked Questions
Torpedoes
Q. If in one turn, the sunk ships number crosses 2 torpedo improvement threshold, do you get 2
rolls on the improvement table or only one?
A. Just one roll per turn.
Q. Do the early Dutch submarines use a –1 for determining their endurance checks?
A. Yes. The better the torpedoes, the fewer were expended per attack, hence the longer the sub
could stay out.
Search & Contact
Q: When multiple subs are in the same OpArea but not operating as a Wolfpack, is
Search/Contact, Combat, etc. handled separately?
A: Yes.
Q. How are AO and AF type ships factored into cups for the War Mix?
A. AOs and AFs are no different than Ms, so they are all mixed up randomly and distributed as
per the -6 and +7 M lines of the War Mix table. If the counter is yellow, it’s a “merchant”.
Q. Are the C2 columns on the Engagement Table supposed to be identical for both Moderate and
High Density?
A. Yes.
Combat
Q. Is ‘Column A’ on the Combat Display considered adjacent to ‘Column D’?
A. No.
Q. If you draw a second Combat Event chit, you return it to the cup. Does this count as a
‘revealed unit’ or do you reveal another in its place?
A. You count it as a ‘revealed unit’. Do not reveal another.
Q. How do you round fractions for the 1/2 ASW value destroyers?
A. Attack Round [14.15]: If you have a fraction when totaling the revealed escort level, you
round down in Step C, after subtracting the target value from the attacker value.
Example: Attack value of 4 against a defense value of 1.5 (1-0 maru with a 6-1/2 DD and TDC of
0).
In Step C, subtract 1.5 from 4 to get 2.5. You then round down to 2, giving a 30% chance of a hit.
Counterattack Round [14.2]: If you have a fraction when calculating the ASW value, round up.
In plain language, treat any 6-1/2 DD as a 6-1 DD unless you have more than one.
Q. Suppose I have targets in Column A and Column B, with no targets in C or D. Is it legal to put
my sub under Column C?
A. Yes, it’s legal and a legitimate tactic.
Q. Is there any significance to the fact that there are eight slots for submarines on the Combat
Chart when the maximum amount of subs in a wolfpack is only six?
A. There are two slots per column since that’s the maximum number of subs you can put in any
one column. This gives you eight slots. When you have a wolfpack of six subs, you can choose to
put them all in three columns (leaving one empty), or have a couple columns with only one sub.
Q. How do you resolve combat when it says “TF Only: Use Column D”?
A. IF directed by either an event, or an AAC (Area Activity Chart), or any other game activity- to
use TF ONLY : Use Column D: Then, regardless of the Engagement Table Results for columns
A-B-C: Only pull column D results *and* only place rising-sun flagged vessels. If a meatball flag
is drawn, return it and continue drawing until you have all rising sun flags. Conduct combat
normally. This represents an opportunity at a portion of larger, swiftly moving task force- any
rising sun flagged marus are high speed transports, fleet oilers etc. The submarine may only set
up in Column D.
Q. If you place a TDC next to an unrevealed unit, do you reveal it immediately?
A. No, and here is how you resolve it in detail:
1. You can apply a TDC to an unrevealed unit if desired. [14.13]
2. The unrevealed unit is considered to have a defense value of '1' for determining if it can be
hit [14.16]
3. If you "target" a unit, it means you are attacking it (applying attack factors) [14.14]
4. If you target an unrevealed unit, you can then reveal it [14.14]
5. If the target's actual defense value is greater than '1', it may actually be un-hittable. In this
case, you have still fired on it (and missed), and may be counter-attacked.
Combat Events
Q. If you get the #0 Target Lumbers into Way Event during the first attack phase, and thanks to it
you sink a merchant, but then are unable to make any normal attacks (due to TDC, etc.) [14.16],
does Counterattack happen?
A. Yes. Counterattack would happen even if you missed since you fired torpedoes (the skipper
made a desperation shot).
Q. A Diligent Escort lumbers into the way of a spread and is sunk (serves them right!). Do I roll
on the Diligent Escort line for its brief but fleeting revelation?
A. It does serve him right. You don't roll on the Diligent Escort line since the “lumbering” target
is unaware of the attack. Even diligent captains have bad days.
Q. If Combat Event 6 (Tonnage Doubled) is rolled, does this mean that the qualifying largest ship
must be sunk during the current attack round?
A. No, the event specifies that it is the current PHASE, which equals 2 rounds (possibly 3 with a
super skipper). Also note that it is the largest merchant, not ship.
Q. If I draw the Event ‘Circular Running Torpedo but can’t attack anything due to poor TDC
solutions, do I still resolve the Event?
A. No, in this case you don’t fire so can’t have a circular running torpedo.
Q. What happens if you get the Tonnage Doubled Event twice in a phase?
A. Double the tonnage of the 2nd largest merchant as well.
Q. How do you resolve Combat Events 7, 8, and 9?
A. Let’s start with a quick high-level overview of a normal Combat Phase for a submarine:
For each submarine’s Combat Phase, there are potentially three (3) sub-phases of activities: The
first attack, the re-attack, and the super-skipper re-attack.
Each one of these sub-phases contains two distinct steps that happen in a specific order:
1. The submarine attacks (combat)
2. The surface ships react with ASW (counterattack)
After the first attack- if you were not forced to RTB or were sunk, and you elected to Re-Attack,
you would do steps 1 and 2 again…
Every time one of these three events happens, it only effects how steps 1 and 2 (combat and
counterattack) are performed *within* that sub-phase.
Now for the events themselves. The occurrence of event 7, or 8, or 9 changes the nature of how
you perform steps 1 and 2.
Event 7: COUNTERATTACK-COMBAT --- This event reverses the order in which you do the
steps. You reveal all targets that you are required to reveal normally, and then conduct
counterattack first, before conducting your submarine’s attack (called combat) second. This event
represents the submarine being discovered but the skipper not realizing it and getting a little
surprise while intently focused upon a target ahead.
Event 8: COUNTERATTACK --- This event eliminates the submarine’s combat. You reveal all
targets that you are required to reveal normally and then conduct counterattack only. You get no
attack in this sub-phase. The DD’s and DE’s and ASW guys got a flat out drop on you and it
caused you to blow your attack.
Event 9: COMBAT-COMBAT --- This event replaces step 2, counterattack, with an additional
combat. You reveal all targets that you are required to reveal normally and then conduct your
attack- then, instead of getting counterattacked by the ASW forces you conduct another attack
round, revealing more ships, placing new TDCs etc (but no –1 modifier to the TDCs unless the
Event is drawn during a reattack). This event represents the surface guys freaking out - going
wild at every sighting of a sea-bird, a foamy sea spray, etc, anywhere but in the vicinity of the
nice calm ocean where you are.
Transit Movement / RTB
Q. Are all RTB's processed only during the Transit Movement Phase?
A. All transit movement (and RTB is considered transit movement) is done during the transit
movement phase. An RTB submarine is unable, by intent of the game structure, to take part in
patrol movement.
Q. Can a sub with 2 damage markers remain at sea, or must it RTB?
A. It may remain at sea.
Q. If a sub gets an RTB during the transit phase, does it get to transit move again?
A. No, it is placed in the "DONE" section of the OpArea in which the transit event occurred, and
doesn’t transit move again until the following turn.
In plain terms, you are returning to base, and the Transit Event interrupts you (having to evade,
lie on the bottom, or conduct some repairs in place), and you continue to RTB the following turn.
Q. Can I voluntarily RTB after patrolling in a turn?
A. No. If you choose to patrol, you cannot voluntarily decide to RTB, though you can be forced
to RTB through combat or endurance. If you voluntarily decide to RTB, that submarine skips the
Search & Contact and Combat Phases as per [13.1].
In plain language, you decide at the start of the Search and Contact Phase whether to "shoot or
scoot". If you want to shoot, you can't scoot. If you want to scoot, you can't shoot.
Q. Do the bullets under [15.21] only apply to voluntary RTB?
A. No, the bullets should be associated with [15.2] as a whole.
Q. Why can’t I voluntarily RTB a sub that was damaged in the current turn?
A. Here is how it works:
1. Prior to Search & Contact, you can decide to voluntarily RTB as per [13.1] and [15.21]. This
is the only time it can be voluntary.
2. A submarine (even if damaged) that engages in search & contact, rolls on the Endurance
Table, adding one if damaged [14.7].
Most players will want to RTB a damaged submarine, and there is nothing stopping them from
RTB'ing in the following turn as per [13.1].
Q. If my submarine is damaged, does it have to RTB to the nearest base?
A. No, it can return to any base within its range. For example, in War Period 1 the S-41 damaged
in the Marianas and fails endurance. It can return to either Manila or Pearl Harbor since each is
within the submarine’s range of ‘3’. If S-41 had been in the South China Sea 1 it would have to
RTB to Manila since Pearl Harbor is currently outside of its range.
Special Mission Zones (SMZs)
Q. If I don’t have enough subs in an OpArea to respond to an SMZ, what do I do?
A. Here is the order with which you respond to SMZs:
1. Patrolling subs in OpAreas connected to the SMZ, or in adjacent OpAreas conduct patrol
movement into the SMZ.
2. If you need more, transit side up submarines in the OpArea or adjacent OpAreas that are not
marked RTB are flipped to patrol side and patrol moved to the SMZ. See [5.2]
Q. If an SMZ has a forward base (sub tender), and an RTB’ing sub can get to the OpArea the
SMZ points to, can they enter the SMZ, or do they have to wait until next turn?
A. They can enter this turn. A Forward Base is considered to be *in* the OpArea (see note under
[15.1]). Also note [21.11] that the transit event modifer no longer applies when an SMZ is a
forward base.
Q. When entering a forward base from an adjacent OpArea, do you have to roll for transit event?
ie. OpArea->OpArea->Forward Base in SMZ
A. Yes. Any OpArea to OpArea movement requires a transit check.
Q. If a damaged submarine has more than superficial damage when it arrives at a tender [ 21.23],
do you keep track of the damage level for when it arrives at a Base?
A. No, the damage roll at the tender is only to determine whether the tender can handle it. You
aren’t required to keep track.
Radar
Q. How many targets can I ‘unflip’ if I have radar? Just one or one per tactical rating?
A. You unflip one unit, TOTAL, per combat round.
Q. Can I unflip a unit if there is no other unit to reveal in it’s place?
A. No.
Q. Say you've got a tactical rating of 4. In the re-attack round, there are 4 Rising Sun flags
available and some meatballs. Can you use the radar to unflip a RS and thus take a meatball
instead?
A. Yes. The first bullet of [14.4.A] is fulfilled when you reveal the fourth rising sun. You can
then use radar to unflip the last one revealed and select a meatball in it's place.
Congregating Risk
Q. How do I apply congregating risk if the OpArea used to determine the transit check is not the
one that is “congested”? Do I use the OpArea that is congested instead?
A. Keep it simple and strictly with the rules. Bear with me here:
1. You use the OpArea with the lowest red number, Period.
2. If a submarine passed through a congregating risk area, regardless of which area, apply the
modifier.
Q. Are congregating risk modifiers cumulative if you pass through two OpAreas which are
congested?
A. No, but you use the highest modifer, i.e. if one area would give you a +1 and another a +2 you
use +2.
Q. Is it correct to say that it doesn't matter how many submarines have passed through an area
earlier in the turn, only how many are there now?
A. Correct, you aren't required to keep track of which areas were passed through by how many
subs. That would be a nightmare. Congregating Risk is determined at the instant you check for (1)
Search & Contact, and (2) Transit Event check.
Q. Say you have 5 subs in an OpArea. One of those subs has to RTB. Does congregating risk
apply for the transit check (since you don’t use the OpArea from which you depart)?
A. Yes, it does apply, but you use the OpArea as per [19.1]. Let me expand on this, as it's a good
example. Say TWO of the subs have to RTB:
1. The first one has congregating risk of +1 to transit check when it departs.
2. The second one does not have congregating risk for its transit check as there are only four
submarines there at that point.
You use the number of subs in place at the instant you take an action, not the number of subs
there earlier in the turn. We didn't want that sort of recordkeeping.
Wolfpacks
Q. May fewer than three submarines attack as a wolfpack if some of their number are unable to
make their interception roll as a barrier pack [24.32] or are unable to make their re-attack roll
[24.55]?
A. Yes. So long as the pack itself consists of three or more submarines.
Patrol Games
Q. Are Patrol Scenarios supposed to start in the Home Base listed?
A. Yes.
Q. Do you have to return to port in the last week?
A. No, the time indicates the historical duration of the patrol, so you can try to do more in less
time. You can stay out until forced to RTB via damage or the endurance table.
Q. For 32.16, Rasher's Patrol -- it says the sub begins in Fremantle and patrols in Pearl Harbor.
Where did Capt. Munson actually patrol?
A. The “destination” was actually Pearl Harbor, so, in this case, the patrolled OpArea is up to the
player.
Campaign Games
Q. Referring to [31.13], when exactly do the four SMZ subs (at Midway and Wake) get to RTB?
Is it at the end of Week 3 or Week 4 of Dec. '41?
A. The campaign starts with Week 2 of December 1941: This is the first full week and thus is turn
“1” In this case, they RTB at the end of Week 3 (Dec 41).
Q. Are submarines assigned to specific sub bases?
A. No, the player as ComSubPac is free to have submarines go to any bases with these
exceptions:
• The Aleutians War Event requires a minimum of eight submarines to be assigned to that
base for the duration of the Event.
• If Allied subs are being used, British and Dutch subs may only be assigned to Surabaya,
Fremantle, and Subic Bay.
Q. Do Allied submarines benefit from ULTRA?
A. Yes. Although ULTRA information wasn't shared with the British or Dutch, Allied
submarines were directed to areas based on ULTRA information.
Q. What happens to named ships when you change War Period if they are no longer listed in the
mix?
A. They are not used. Consider these (Asahi, Izumo) veterans of the Russo-Japanese War to have
been shifted out of theatre, retired, or sunk by mine or aircraft.
Q. I rolled the SMZ Formosa War event going into my next campaign turn...is this a special case
where they will roll on the Endurance table even though they are in an SMZ?
A. They stay until they get an RTB/Damage/Spotted from combat, or an RTB from Endurance.
Standard rules are always overruled by War Events.
Q. When Manila fell, Surabaya (and the USS Holland) opened up. I assume that both of these
docking/repair facilities are separately tracked, although located in the same place.
A. If not using the optional Allied subs, all you get is the sub tender at Surabaya, which becomes
available when Manila falls. If using Allied subs, Surabaya is a full fledged sub base at game-
start. The Dutch sub-tender is only on the map to indicate that Surabaya is active and playable.
When Manila falls, you also get the Holland there.
Q. If submarines assigned to Dutch Harbor are sunk or withdrawn, do new subs have to be
assigned to Dutch Harbor to bring the total to 8 again? If so, can those be then re-assigned when
subs return to Dutch Harbor?
A. Yes. You are required to keep at least 8 submarines out of Dutch Harbor which are limited to
the OpAreas of the Aleutian campaign. You can re-assign freely so long as you don't voluntarily
go below the eight sub minimum.