0% found this document useful (0 votes)
91 views8 pages

LOTR FAQ VERSION 1.2 - 10/28/2011: 2), Out of The Dungeons 3B CORE 125 (P. 2) Frequently Asked Questions (P. 7)

LOTR FAQ VERSION 1 contains clarifications and errata on individual cards or sets. Errata in this section applies to all reprinted versions of that card.

Uploaded by

Rrob Ratto
Copyright
© Attribution Non-Commercial (BY-NC)
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
0% found this document useful (0 votes)
91 views8 pages

LOTR FAQ VERSION 1.2 - 10/28/2011: 2), Out of The Dungeons 3B CORE 125 (P. 2) Frequently Asked Questions (P. 7)

LOTR FAQ VERSION 1 contains clarifications and errata on individual cards or sets. Errata in this section applies to all reprinted versions of that card.

Uploaded by

Rrob Ratto
Copyright
© Attribution Non-Commercial (BY-NC)
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
You are on page 1/ 8

LOTR FAQ VERSION 1.

2 -- 10/28/2011
New Card Errata: Eleanor CORE 8 (p. 2), Stand and Fight CORE 51 (p. 2), The Necromancers Tower 1A CORE 123 (p. 2), Out of the Dungeons 3B CORE 125 (p. 2) Updated Rules Content: Attachments (p. 5), Questing Successfully (p. 5), Collecting Resources (p. 5), Scoring (p.5), Frequently Asked Questions (p. 7)

TM

2011 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved. No part of this product may be reproduced without specific permission. Middle-earth, The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings, and the characters, items, events and places therein are trademarks or registered trademarks of The Saul Zaentz Company d/b/a Middle-earth Enterprises. Fantasy Flight Games, Fantasy Flight Supply, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. All Rights Reserved to their respective owners.

TM

Dol Guldur Beastmster CORE 91 Should read: "Forced: When Dol Guldur Beastmaster attacks..." The additional shadow card is dealt when the Dol Guldur Beastmaster is chosen during step 1 of enemy attack resolution. Nazgl of Dol Guldur CORE 102 Should have the text: No attachments can be played on Nazgl of Dol Guldur. The Necromancers Tower 1A CORE 123 Should read: ... reveal and place them in the staging area. Out of the Dungeons 3B CORE 125 If a facedown Orc Guard would be returned to the staging area, it is instead placed in its owner's discard pile.

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game FAQ version 1.2 10/28/2011 New Content in red

Card Errata
This section contains the official clarifications and errata that have been made on individual cards or sets in The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game. The card entries are ordered by the set in which the specified card was printed, with the most recent set in front. The errata on any individual card applies to all reprinted versions of that card.

Rule Clarification
This section contains the official rule clarifications and enhancements for The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game. Used in conjunction with the rulebook (found in the The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game core set), these clarifications and enhancements should enable a player to navigate through the most complex situations that can arise while playing the game. (1.00) The Golden Rule The Golden Rule reads: "If the game text of a card contradicts the text of the rulebook, the text on the card takes precedence." The Golden Rule applies when there is a direct contradiction between card text and rules text. If it is possible to observe both card text and the text of the rulebook, both are observed. Example: The rulebook (p. 15) reads: "Any progress tokens that would be placed on a quest card are instead placed on the active location." Legolas (CORE 5) has an effect that reads, "...place 2 progress tokens on the current quest." Legolas' effect would place 2 progress tokens on the quest; the core rule from page 15 instead places those tokens on the active location. Thus, the Legolas ability can successfully resolve, and the core rule can be observed, without creating a golden rule situation. (If a card effect read, "place a progress token on the current quest, bypassing any active location," a direct contradiction between card text and rulebook would be created, and the golden rule would then take effect.) (1.01) Encounter Keywords Surge, Doomed, and Guarded keywords should be resolved any time the card on which they occur enters play, including during setup.

LOTR Core Set


Thalin CORE 6 When an enemy card is revealed from the encounter deck, Thalins ability resolves before any keyword or When Revealed card effects on the encounter card. Eleanor CORE 8 The replacement card is also revealed from the encounter deck. Resolve any "When revealed" effects and keywords on the new card following the standard game rules. Stand and Fight CORE 51 Stand and Fight cannot return neutral allies from the discard pile, as neutral cards do not belong to "any sphere."

(1.02) Simultaneous Effect Timing If two or more conflicting effects would occur simultaneously, the first player decides the order in which the effects resolve. Example: Tom plays Sneak Attack (CORE 23) to put Beorn (CORE 31) into play during the combat phase. Sneak Effect has the condition, At the end of the phase, if that ally is still in play, return it to your hand. During combat, Tom uses Beorns triggered effect, which has the condition, At the end of the phase in which you trigger this effect, shuffle Beorn back into your deck. At the end of the phase, a situation arises in which two conflicting effects are attempting to resolve simultaneously on Beorn. The first player determines which of the two effects resolves first. (The second effect no longer applies when Beorn leaves play.) (1.03) Conflicting Effect Targeting If an encounter or quest effect attempts to target a single player or card, and there are multiple eligible targets, the first player selects the target of the effect from among the eligible options. Example: The card Caught in a Web (CORE 80) has an effect that reads, "The player with the highest threat level attaches this card to one of his heroes." Tom and Kris are tied for the highest threat level when Caught in a Web is revealed, so the first player determines whether the card affects Tom or Kris. (1.04) Damage and Multiple Defenders If a player uses card effects to declare multiple defenders against a single enemy attack, the defending player must assign all damage from that attack to a single defending character. (1.05) Removing Progress Tokens from Quests When a card effect removes progress tokens from a quest or quest card, the effect applies specifically to the quest card, and never to the active location. (1.06) Control of Non-objective Encounter Cards Players do not gain control of encounter cards unless control of the card is explicitly granted by a card effect. When an encounter card (such as Caught in a Web, CORE 86) becomes an attachment and attaches to a character, that characters controller does not gain control of the attachment. (1.07) Control of Objective Cards When a player claims an objective card, he gains control of that card unless otherwise directed by a card effect.

(1.08) Responses per Trigger If a response or forced response is triggered, the effect can only occur once per trigger. Example: Theodred (CORE 2) reads, "Response: After Theodred commits to a quest...." This effect can only be triggered once each time Theodred commits to a quest. (1.09) Forced Responses Forced responses resolve immediately when their specified prerequisite occurs, and before any response effects that also can be triggered off the same prerequisite. Example: Tower Gate (CORE 107) reads, "Forced: After travelling to Tower Gate...." If a player wishes to play a response such as Strength of Will (CORE 47) after the players travel to Tower Gate, he must wait until after the forced response resolves. (1.10) Limitations on Actions Actions are only limited by whether or not a player can pay the cost of the action, or by built in limitations on the card itself, such as "limit once per round." Example: Protector of Lorien (CORE 70) reads, "Action: Discard a card from your hand to...." This action may be triggered repeatedly, as long as the card's controller has cards in hand to discard. (1.11) Limitations on Attacks When a player is the active attacker during the combat phase, the game rules grant him the option to declare 1 attack against each enemy with which he is engaged. If, through card effects such as ranged, a player is able to declare attacks against enemies with which he is not engaged, he is still only permitted a single attack against each of these enemies. Characters are not limited as to how many times they can participate in attacks against the same enemy, provided each attack can be legally declared, and the character is ready and eligible to be declared as an attacker.

(1.12) Exhaustion and Attachments Attachments and the card to which they are attached exhaust and ready independent of one another. Example: Steward of Gondor (CORE 26) reads, "Action: Exhaust Steward of Gondor to...." Using this action only exhausts the Steward of Gondor card, not the hero to which it is attached. Additionally, exhausting the hero to which Steward of Gondor is attached does not exhaust the Steward of Gondor card. (1.13) Characters and Enemies "Character" refers to both hero and ally cards. Enemy cards are not considered characters. (1.14) The word "cannot" If a card effect uses the word "cannot", then it is an absolute: that effect cannot be overridden by other effects. (1.15) The word "then" If a card effect uses the word "then," then the preceding effect must resolve successfully for the subsequent dependent effect to resolve. (1.16) The phrase "put into play" If a card effect uses the phrase put into play, it means that the card enters play through a card effect instead of through the normal process of paying resources and playing the card from hand. "Put into play" effects are not considered to be playing the card, and will not trigger any effects that refer to a card being played. "Put into play" will, however, trigger any effects that occur when a card "enters play".

Example: The quest Through the Caverns (CORE 124) has the text, "The players, as a group, cannot play more than one ally card each round." While this quest is active, a player can put an ally into play with Stand and Fight (CORE 51), even if an ally has already been played this round. (1.17) Unclaimed Objectives An unclaimed objective is one that is not currently claimed and under the control of a player. An unclaimed objective can be guarded or unguarded. A guarded objective is treated like an attachment if guarded by an enemy or location, and remains attached to that card until it leaves play, at which point it will return to the staging area. Any unclaimed objective in the staging area that is not attached to a card is considered to be unguarded. If an objective is claimed at one point, and then returns to the staging area, it regains the status of unclaimed. (1.18) Explored Locations Leaving Play A location card is immediately discarded from play any time it has as many progress tokens as it has quest points, whether it is active or not. (1.19) Card Effects during Setup "When Revealed" effects are resolved if the cards are revealed during setup. A player can trigger responses during setup, following the normal game rules. Players cannot take Actions during setup.

(1.20) Engaged Enemies During the quest phase, engaged enemies do not count their threat for the staging area. An enemy remains engaged with a player until it is defeated or until a card effect returns it to the staging area, engages it to another player, or removes it from play. (1.21) Search Effects Whenever a player searches through a deck, that player shuffles the deck after searching it unless a card effect says otherwise. Players do not shuffle or change the order of a discard pile after searching it. (1.22) "When Revealed" Effects A card is only considered to be revealed if the card or game effect causing the card to enter play specifically uses a form of the word "reveal". Example: If the players use the Stage 3b "Don't Leave the Path!" (CORE 121) quest card effect to search for a King Spider and put it into play, the "When Revealed" effect on the King Spider will not trigger, since the effect on "Don't Leave the Path!" does not specifically use a form of the word "reveal." (1.23) Attachments Any card that attaches to another card is treated as an Attachment in addition to its other card types. (1.24) Questing Successfully Questing successfully and the physical placement of progress tokens are two separate game occurrences that happen in sequence during the Quest Resolution step. As soon as the players determine that the total committed Willpower is greater than the total Threat in the staging area, they are considered to have quested successfully. Any Forced or passive effects initiated by questing successfully resolve before physically placing progress tokens. Example: Tom has just successfully quested during stage 1B of The Hunt Begins (SoM 11), and he will be placing enough progress to advance to the next stage. However, he must first resolve the Forced effect (which resolves immediately upon the occurence of "questing succesfully") before placing progress tokens on the quest. (1.25) Collecting Resources Collecting resources refers to both collecting resources during the resource phase and gaining resources through other card effects. An effect that prevents a hero from collecting resources prevents both methods of acquiring new resources.

Nightmare Variant
This section elaborates upon the "nightmare" play variant that is introduced on page 27 of the Core Set rulebook. When playing the nightmare variant each players threat, wounds, and discard pile do not reset when setting up a new scenario. To reset the other game elements at the beginning of a new "nightmare" scenario, perform the following steps in order: 1) All non-hero cards in play and in hand are shuffled into their owners decks. All encounter cards are returned to their encounter sets so they are available for the next scenario, if needed. This includes cards in players' victory display. 2) All unspent resources are discarded from the heroes resource pools. 3) Each player draws a new starting hand per the regular setup rules of the game. A single mulligan may be taken by each player at this time. 4) A player cannot start a scenario with a threat level that is lower than the combined threat cost of his heroes. If a players threat is lower than the starting threat cost of his heroes, he must increase his threat to that value. 5) Follow all setup instructions for the new scenario. Each scenario should be scored separately, and then all the scores added together at the end of the variant.

Scoring
This section introduces an additional element to the scoring system presented on page 22 of the core rulebook. This revised scoring will be implemented at all FFG sanctioned organized play events, and should be used on the LOTR LCG Quest Log available at FantasyFlightGames.com. In addition to all elements currently used to score a game, players also add an additional 10 points to their "final group score" for each round of play that is taken to defeat a scenario. Players tally each round for their score at the end of the refresh phase. A modified scoring sheet has been provided as the final page of this document. The tally of rounds can be tracked on the notes section of these sheets.

Frequently Asked Questions


This section applies to material covered in previous sections, in the core rulebook, and in Adventure Pack inserts. It answers some of the most frequently asked questions that arise while playing The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game. Q: If the players do not commit any characters to a quest, does the staging area still count its threat against them? A: Yes, the threat in the staging area still counts against the players, who have a combined committed willpower of 0. Q: Does a player commit his characters to a quest at once, or one character at a time? When can a player trigger responses to committing his characters to a quest? A: A player commits all characters he wishes to commit to a quest at once. Responses to the characters committing (such as those on Aragorn and Theodred) can then be triggered in the order of that players choice. After a player has committed his characters (and triggered any responses to those characters committing), the next player has the opportunity to commit his characters to the quest. Q: Does the effect on Legolas (CORE 5) place progress tokens on an active location, if there is one? A: Yes. Always place progress tokens on an active location instead of the quest, unless the ability specifically states to bypass any active location. Q: When do "after this enemy attacks" Forced effects like those on Chieftan Ufthak (CORE 90) and Wargs (CORE 85) resolve? A: These effects resolve immediately after step 4 of enemy attack resolution. Q: Can a player have cards in his player deck from a sphere that doesnt match the sphere of one of his heroes? A: There is nothing in the rules that disallows this, although a player will need to find clever card interactions to make use of such cards. Q: Does Dungeon Jailer (CORE 101) shuffle guarded objectives back into the encounter deck? A: Yes. Dungeon Jailer will shuffle any unclaimed objective, whether or not it is guarded.

Q: Can a player use a response effect like the one on Eleanor (CORE 8) during setup? A: Yes. Responses can be triggered at any time they meet their specified prerequisite, including during setup. Q: Do the Orc Guards generated by the effects of the Tower Gate location card and the Out of the Dungeons quest card have the Orc Trait? A: No. Face down cards do not have traits unless the trait is gained through a card effect. Q: When should Feint (CORE 34) be played? A: This card should be played any time before resolving step 1 of the target enemy's attack during the combat phase. (Once the act of resolving an enemy's attack begins, it is too late to prevent it from attacking with Feint.) Q: In what order is players' optional engagement handled? A: The first player has the first opportunity to optionally engage an enemy, or pass. After that, each player, moving clockwise, has the option to engage one enemy. Once each player has had this opportunity, this step is complete. Q: What happens to Banks of the Anduin (CORE 113) if it is drawn as a Shadow card? A: It will be discarded from play at the end of the combat phase, like other Shadow cards. When a card is drawn as a Shadow card, only its Shadow text is considered to be active. Q. If Wolf Rider (CORE 81) is drawn as a Shadow card, when is it returned to the top of the encounter deck? A: "After combat" refers to the end of the combat phase, when Shadow cards normally leave play. Q. If I cancel the Shadow effect on a card dealt to the Nazgl of Dol Guldur (CORE 102), is the effect still considered to have resolved, making me discard a character? A: No. Resolving an effect means that the effect triggered and resolved to the fullest extent possible. Canceling the effect will prevent the Nazgl of Dol Guldur's ability from triggering, just as if the card had no Shadow effect to begin with. Q. Does a player with the Dungeon Torch (CORE 109) raise his threat by 2 or 3 during the refresh phase? A: Dungeon Torch's effect does not replace the regular 1 threat raise, but adds to it. So the player with the Dungeon Torch raises his threat by 3.

Q. If Legolas has a Blade of Gondolin (CORE 39) and destroys an enemy, can he trigger his response, finish off a quest card, and still place progress tokens on the next quest with the Blade of Gondolin's response? A: Yes. Quest cards are immediately replaced as soon as players place enough progress on them, and this replacement does not interrupt the current round sequence. If the current quest card only needs 1 progress on it, then a player could also trigger the Blade's effect first, and then Legolas' in order to maximize the number of progress tokens placed. (There is no carry-over progress from an effect). Q: How does a player resolve the situation in which a single hero has multiple copies of Caught in a Web (CORE 80) attached? A: The player must pay for each copy of Caught in a Web before the hero can ready. Each copy of the card creates an independent condition that must be fulfilled before readying the attached hero, so if each condition is not fulfilled the hero cannot ready. End result, if a hero has two copies of Caught in a Web attached, the player will have to pay 4 resources from that hero's resource pool in order to ready the card. Q: If players have placed progress tokens on a quest equal to its quest points, but a game effect prevents them from advancing, can they continue to place progress tokens on the quest? A: Yes. There is no upper limit to how many progress tokens may be placed on a quest. Q: Can characters with the ranged keyword participate in an attack declared through the card Quick Strike (CORE 35)? A: No. There is no opportunity for other characters to join a Quick Strike attack. One character is exhausted to pay for the cost of Quick Strike, and the effect is that the exhausted character is immediately declared as an attacker against the target enemy. The card's resolution does not allow for a standard declaration step in which other characters can declare. Q: Wilaydor (SoM 64) cannot be healed of more than 5 wounds by a single effect, so how do I resolve the when revealed text on Return to Rhosgobel 3B (SoM 62)? A: Heal 5 wounds from Wilyador for each Athelas objective card as its own separate action.

Q: Can Brand son of Bain (SoM 72) trigger his response if he participates in a ranged attack that defeats an enemy engaged with another player instead of declaring the attack himself ? A: Yes. Declaring an attack and participating in an attack are both subsets of attacking. In both cases Brand attacks and can trigger his response if the enemy is defeated. Q: If a Sacked! (SoM 48) card is placed on a hero while that hero is questing is that hero removed from the quest? A: No. Sacked! specifies only that the hero cannot commit to the quest, and the hero is already committed. However, the hero cannot commit to quests on future rounds while Sacked! is attached. Q: If Eleanor (CORE 8) is used to cancel the "when revealed" effects of a treachery card, are any surge or doomed keywords on that card also canceled? A: No. Eleanor only cancels the "when revealed" effects of the treachery card. Any surge or doomed keywords on the card resolve before the new (replacement) card is revealed. Q: Is Against the Trolls (SoM 32) the final stage of Conflict at the Carrock? A: Yes.

Scenario Name
Player Names Final Threat Level Threat Cost Of Each Dead Hero Damage Tokens on Remaining Heroes Player Subtotal

Number of Players Notes

Number of Rounds: (tally)


Combined Player Subtotals Victory Points Earned 10 Points per Round Final Group Score

TM

Scenario Name
Player Names Final Threat Level Threat Cost Of Each Dead Hero Damage Tokens on Remaining Heroes Player Subtotal

Number of Players Notes

Number of Rounds: (tally)


Combined Player Subtotals
TM

Victory Points Earned 10 Points per Round

Final Group Score

Scenario Name
Player Names Final Threat Level Threat Cost Of Each Dead Hero Damage Tokens on Remaining Heroes Player Subtotal

Number of Players Notes

Number of Rounds: (tally)


Combined Player Subtotals
TM

Victory Points Earned 10 Points per Round

Final Group Score

Players may photocopy this page for their own personal use.

You might also like