Questions - CVP Analysis and Decision Making

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CHAPTER 3

CVP Analysis & Decision Making


BASIC CONCEPTS & FORMULAE
1. Marginal Costing
According to CIMA, Marginal costing is the system in which variable costs are
charged to cost units and fixed costs of the period are written off in full against the
aggregate contribution.
Marginal costing is not a distinct method of costing like job costing, process costing,
operating costing, etc. but a special technique used for marginal decision making.
Marginal costing is used to provide a basis for the interpretation of cost data to
measure the profitability of different products, processes and cost centre in the course
of decision making.
2. Cost-volume-profit analysis
Cost-volume-profit analysis (as the name suggests) is the analysis of three variable
viz., cost, volume and profit. Such an analysis explores the relationship existing
amongst costs, revenue, activity levels and the resulting profit. It aims at measuring
variations of cost with volume. In the profit planning of a business, cost-volume-profit
(C-V-P) relationship is the most significant factor.
3. Important Factors in Marginal Costing Decisions
In all recommendations of marginal costing decisions, the following factors are to be
considered:
(i) Whether the product or production line in question makes a contribution.
(ii) Where a choice is to be made between two courses of action, the additional
fixed overhead, if any, should be taken into account.
(iii) The continuity of demand after expansion or renovation or installation of the
sophisticated machine and its impact on the selling price should also be
considered.
(iv) Cost is not the only criterion for decision making. Non-cost factors like the
necessity to retain the experienced employees, etc. should also be considered.
4. Pricing Decisions under Special Circumstances
If goods were sold in the normal circumstances under normal business conditions, the

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3.2 Advanced Management Accounting

price would cover the total cost plus a margin of profit. Selling prices are not always
determined by the cost of production. They may be determined by market conditions
but in the long run they tend to become equal to the cost of production of marginal
firm. Therefore, a business cannot continue to sell below the total cost for a long
period. Occasionally, a firm may have to sell below the total cost.
The problem of pricing can be summarised under three heads:
(i) Pricing in periods of recession,
(ii) Differential selling prices, and
(iii) Acceptance of an offer and submission of a tender.
5. Make or Buy Decision
Very often management is faced with the problem as to whether a part should be
manufactured or it should be purchased from outside market. Under such
circumstances two factors are to be considered:
(a) whether surplus capacity is available, and
(b) the marginal cost.
6. Shut Down or Continue Decision
Very often it becomes necessary for a firm to temporarily close down the factory due
to trade recession with a view to reopening it in the future. In such cases, the decision
should be based on the marginal cost analysis. If the products are making a
contribution towards fixed expenses or in other words if selling price is above the
marginal cost, it is preferable to continue because the losses are minimised. By
suspending the manufacture, certain fixed expenses can be avoided and certain extra
fixed expenses may be incurred depending upon the nature of the industry, say, for
example, extra cost incurred in protecting the machinery. So the decision is based on
as to whether the contribution is more than the difference between the fixed expenses
incurred in normal operation and the fixed expenses incurred when the plant is shut
down.
7. Export V/S Local Sale Decision
When the firm is catering to the needs of the local market and surplus capacity is still
available, it may think of utilising the same to meet export orders at price lower than
that prevailing in the local market. This decision is made only when the local sale is
earning a profit, i.e., where its fixed expenses have already been recovered by the
local sales. In such cases, if the export price is more than the marginal cost, it is
preferable to enter the export market. Any reduction in the price prevailing in the local
market to fulfil surplus capacity may have adverse effect on the normal local sales.

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CVP Analysis and Decision Making 3.3

Dumping in the export market at a lower price will not, however, have any such
adverse effect on local sales.
8. Expand or Contract Decision
Whenever a decision is to be taken as to whether the capacity is to be expanded or
not, consideration should be given to the following points:
(a) Additional fixed expenses to be incurred.
(b) Possible decrease in selling price due to increase in production.
(c) Whether the demand is sufficient to absorb the increased production.
9. Product Mix Decision
Many times the management has to take a decision whether to produce one product
or another instead. Generally decision is made on the basis of contribution of each
product. Other things being the same the product which yields the highest contribution
is best one to produce. But, if there is shortage or limited supply of certain other
resources which may act as a key factor like for example, the machine hours, then the
contribution is linked with such a key factor for taking a decision.
10. Price-Mix Decision
When a firm can produce two or more products from the same production facilities and the
demand of each product is affected by the change in their prices, the management may
have to choose price mix which will give the maximum profit, particularly when the
production capacity is limited. In such a situation, the firm should compute all the possible
combinations and select a price-mix which yields the maximum profitability.
BASIC FORMULAS
1. Sales-Variable Cost = Contribution = Fixed Cost + Profit
2. P/V ratio (or C/S ratio) = Contribution ÷ Sales
= Contribution per unit ÷ Selling price per unit
= Change in Contribution ÷ Change in Sales
3. Break-even Point: Point where there is no profit or no loss.
(i) at BEP, Contribution = Fixed Cost
Thus, Break Even Sales (in sales value) = Fixed Cost ÷ P/V ratio
4. Margin of safety = Sales – BEP sales
= Contribution / PV ratio - Fixed cost / PV ratio
= Profit / PV ratio

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3.4 Advanced Management Accounting

5. BEP Calculation in different scenario:


(i) With out limiting factor (non- attributable to a single product)
BEP in units = Fixed cost ÷ Average contribution p.u.
(when sales mix in units are given)
BEP in ` = Fixed cost ÷ composite p\v ratio
(when sales mix in rupee are given )
where composite p\v ratio = ∑ [ Sales Mix 
P\V Ratio ]
(ii) With limiting factor (attributable to a single product)
Find contribution per limiting factor & give rank. Find total contribution from 1st
rank product. Calculate the amount of fixed cost still to recover. Whether it can
be recovered by 2nd rank product or not ?
(iii) For Perishable product apply the same concept in case of opening stock with
different variable cost.
e. BEP in case of process costing is expressed in terms of total raw
material input
f. In capital budgeting, BEP is that sales volume where Σdiscounted Cash
in flow = Σdiscounted Cash out flow. In case of perpetuity, the financing
charge p.a.= CIF pa
g. Potential BE: On the basis of sales out of current period production
only.
h. Multiple BE: Different BE due to change in sales price, variable costs &
fixed costs for different production level.
i. Cash BEP = Cash fixed cost ¸ contribution p.u. So do not consider the
sunk cost.
j. BEP for decision making purpose: Accept that proposal where BEP is
lowest provided the profit can not be calculated.
Total fixed cost - Shut down costs
6. Shut down point =
Contribution per unit

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CVP Analysis and Decision Making 3.5

Question 1
Enumerate the limitations of using the marginal costing technique.
Answer
Marginal costing is defined as the ascertainment of marginal cost and of the effect on profit of
changes in volume or type of output by differentiating between fixed costs and variable costs.
Limitations of Marginal Costing Techniques:
The limitations of using the marginal costing technique are as follows:
1. It is difficult to classify exactly the expenses into fixed and variable category. Most of
the expenses are neither totally variable nor wholly fixed.
2. Contribution itself is not a guide unless it is linked with the key factor.
3. Sales staff may mistake marginal cost for total cost and sell at a price; which will result
in loss or low profits. Hence, sales staff should be cautioned while giving marginal cost.
4. Overheads of fixed nature cannot altogether be excluded particularly in large contracts,
while valuing the work-in-progress. In order to show the correct position fixed
overheads have to be included in work-in-progress.
5. Some of the assumptions regarding the behaviour of various costs are not necessarily
true in a realistic situation. For example, the assumption that fixed cost will remain
static throughout is not correct.
Question 2
Briefly discuss on curvilinear CVP analysis.
Answer
In CVP analysis, the usual assumption is that the total sales line and variable cost line will
have linear relationship, that is, these lines will be straight lines. However, in actual practice it
is unlikely to have a linear relationship for two reasons, namely:
• after the saturation point of existing demand, the sales value may show a downward
trend.
• the average unit variable cost declines initially, reflecting the fact that, as output
increase the firm will be able to obtain bulk discounts on the purchase of raw materials
and can also benefit from division of labour. When the plant is operated at further
higher levels of output, due to bottlenecks and breakdowns the variable cost per unit
will tend to increase. Thus the law of increasing costs may operate and the variable
cost per unit may increase after reaching a particular level of output.

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3.6 Advanced Management Accounting

In such cases, the contribution will not increase in linear proportion i.e. based on the
phenomenon of diminishing marginal productivity; the total cost lie will not be straight,
as assumed but will be of curvilinear shape. This situation will give rise to two break
even points. The optimum profit is earned at the point where the distance between
sales and total cost is the greatest.

Loss

A2
e
nu
ve
Re
Tota l (Rs.)

ta l

A 1 and A 2 are
To

Profit
break-even points
s
ost
al C
Tot
Loss A 1

Quantity
Question 3
A company manufactures two types of herbal product, A and B. Its budget shows profit figures
after apportioning the fixed joint cost of `15 lacs in the proportion of the numbers of units sold.
The budget for 2002, indicates:
A B
Profit (`) 1,50,000 30,000
Selling price / unit (`) 200 120
P/V ratio (%) 40 50

You are required to advise on the best option among the following, if the company expects
that the number of units to be sold would be equal.
(i) Due to exchange in a manufacturing process, the joint fixed cost would be reduced by
15% and the variables would be increased by 7½ %.
(ii) Price of A could be increased by 20% as it is expected that the price elasticity of
demand would be unity over the range of price.
(iii) Simultaneous introduction of both the option, viz, (i) and (ii) above.

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CVP Analysis and Decision Making 3.7

Answer
1. Contribution per unit of each product:
Product
A B
` `
Contribution per unit 80 60
(Sales × P/V ratio) (`200 × 40%) (`120 × 50%)

2. Number of units to be sold:


We know that:
Total contribution – Fixed cost = Profit
Let x be the number of units of each product sold, therefore:
(80x + 60x) – `15,00,000 = ` 1,50,000 + ` 30,000
or x = 12,000 units
(i) Option: Increase in profit when due to change in a manufacturing process there
is reduction in joint fixed cost and increase in variable costs.
`
Revised contribution from 12,000 units of A due to 8,52,000
7.5% increase in variable cost
(12,000 units (`200 – `129)
Revised contribution from 12,000 units of B due to 6,66,000
7.5% increase in variable cost
12,000 units (`120 – `64.50)
Total revised contribution 15,18,000
Less: Fixed cost 12,75,000
(`15,00,000 – 15% × `15,00,000)
Revised Profit 2,43,000
Less: Existing profit 1,80,000
Increase in profit 63,000

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3.8 Advanced Management Accounting

(ii) Option: Increase in profit when the price of product A increased by 20% and the
price elasticity of its demand would be unity over the range of price.
`
Budgeted revenue from Product A 24,00,000
(12,000 units × `200)
Revised demand (in units) 10,000
(`24,00,000 / `240)
Revised contribution (in `) 12,00,000
[10,000 units × (`240 – `120)]
Less: Existing contribution 9,60,000
(12,000 units × `80)
Increase in profit (contribution) 2,40,000
*Note: Since price elasticity of demand is 1, therefore the revenue in respect of
products will remain same.
(iii) Option: Increase in profit on the simultaneous introduction of above two options
`
Revised contribution from Product A 11,10,000
[10,000 units (`240 – `129)]
Revised contribution from Product B 6,66,000
[12,000 units (`120 – `64.50)]
Total revised contribution 17,76,000
Less: Revised fixed cost 12,75,000
Revised profit 5,01,000
Less: Existing profit 1,80,000
Increase in profit 3,21,000
Advise: A comparison of increase in profit figures under above three options
clearly indicates that the option (iii) is the best as it increases the profit of the
concern by `3,21,000.
Note: The budgeted profit/(loss) for 2002 in respect of products A and B should
be `2,10,000 and (`30,000) respectively instead of `1,50,000 and `30,000.
Question 4
“Use of absorption costing method for the valuation of finished goods inventory provides
incentive for over-production.” Elucidate the statement.

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CVP Analysis and Decision Making 3.9

Answer
When absorption costing method is used, production fixed overheads are charged to products
and are included in product costs. Consequently, the closing stocks are valued on total cost
(including fixed overheads) basis. The net effect is that the charge of fixed overheads to P/L
account gets reduced, if the closing stock is greater than the opening stock. This situation has
the effect of inflating the profit for the period.
Where stock levels are likely to fluctuate significantly, profits may be distorted if calculated on
absorption costing basis. If marginal costing is used, since the fixed costs are charged off to
P/L account as period cost, such a situation will not arise. The impact of using absorption
costing on profits can be summerised as under:
• When sales are equal to production, profits will be the same under absorption costing
and marginal costing.
• If production is higher than sales, the absorption costing will post higher profits that
marginal costing.
• If sales are in excess of production, absorption costing will show lower profits than
marginal costing.
Since profit calculation in absorption costing can produce strange result, the managers may
deliberately alter the stock levels to influence the profits if absorption costing is used. Hence, it
is true to say that if absorption costing method is used managers have the incentive to over
produce to show better result.
Question 5
A Pharmaceutical company produces formulations having a shelf life of one year. The
company has an opening stock of 30,000 boxes on 1st January, 2005 and expected to
produce 1, 30,000 boxes as was in the just ended year of 2004. Expected sale would be
1,50,000 boxes. Costing department has worked out escalation in cost by 25% on variable
cost and 10% on fixed cost. Fixed cost for the year 2004 is `40 per unit. New price announced
for 2005 is `100 per box. Variable cost on opening stock is `40 per box. You are required to
compute breakeven volume for the year 2005.
Answer
Shelf life is one year hence opening stock of 30,000 boxes is to be sold first. Contribution on
these boxes is 30,000(100 – 40) = `18,00,000.
In the question production of 2004 is same as in 2005. Hence fixed cost for the year 2004 is
` 52, 00,000 (1, 30,000×40). Therefore fixed cost for the year 2005 is `57, 20,000 (52, 00,000
+ 10% of 52, 00,000).

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3.10 Advanced Management Accounting

Variable Cost for the year 2005 (`40 + 25% of `40) = `50 per Unit
Hence Contribution per unit during 2005 is `50 (100 – 50)
Break even volume is the volume to meet the fixed cost i.e. fixed cost equals to contribution.
Therefore, remaining fixed cost of `39, 20,000 (57, 20,000 – 18, 00,000) to be recovered from
production during 2005.
Production in 2005 to reach BEP = 3920000 / 50 = 78,400 units
Therefore BEP for the year 2005 is 1, 08,400 boxes (30000 + 78400)
Question 6
Jay Kay Limited is a single product manufacturing company. The following information relates
to the months of May and June, 2003:
May June
` `
(i) Budgeted Costs and Selling prices:
Variable manufacturing cost per unit 2.00 2.20
Total fixed manufacturing cost
(based on budgeted output of 25,000 units per month) 40,000 44,000
Total fixed marketing cost 14,000 15,400
Selling price per unit 5.00 5.50
(ii) Actual production and sales:
Units Units
Production 24,000 24,000
Sales 21,000 26,500
(iii) There was no stock of finished goods at the beginning of May, 2003. There was no
wastage or loss of finished goods during May or June, 2003.
(iv) Actual costs incurred corresponded to those budgeted for each month.
You are required to calculate the relative effects on the monthly operating profits of applying:
(i) Absorption costing and (ii) Marginal costing.
Answer
(a) Quantity tally:
May 2003 June 2003
Opening Stock units − 3,000
Production units 24,000 24,000
Total units 24,000 27,000

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CVP Analysis and Decision Making 3.11

Sales units 21,000 26,500


Closing Stock units 3,000 500
Fixed manufacturing overheads ` 40,000 44,000
Budgeted output units 25,000 25,000
Fixed overheads absorption rate per unit ` 1.60 1.76
(i) Profitability based on absorption costing:
May 2003 June 2003
` `
Sales:
May: 21,000 units @ ` 5.00 1,05,000
June: 26,500 units @ ` 5.50 1,45,750
Production Costs:
Variable: May 24,000 units @ ` 2.00 48,000
June 24,000 units @ ` 2.20 52,800
Fixed: May 24,000 units @ ` 1.60 38,400
June 24,000 units @ ` 1.76 42,240
Total production costs 86,400 95,040
Add: Opening stock
May Nil
June 3,000 units @ ` 3.60* 10,800
Total 86,400 1,05,840
Less: Closing stock
May 3,000 units @ ` 3.60* 10,800
June 500 units @ ` 3.96* 1,980
Production cost of goods sold 75,600 1,03,860
Marketing fixed costs 14,000 15,400
Total cost of goods sold 89,600 1,19,260
Profit (Sales – COGS) 15,400 26,490
Budgeted output 25,000 units
Actual output 24,000 units
Shortfall 1,000 units
Under recovery of fixed overheads
May 1,000 units @ ` 1.60 1,600
June 1,000 units @ ` 1.76 1,760
Net profit 13,800 24,730

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3.12 Advanced Management Accounting

*Total cost = VC + FC
May 2.00 + 1.60 = 3.60
June 2.20 + 1.76 = 3.96
(ii) Profitability based on marginal costing:
May 2003 June 2003
` `
Sales 1,05,000 1,45,750
Production cost – variable 48,000 52,800
Add: Opening stock
May Nil
June 3,000 units @ ` 2.00 6,000
Total 48,000 58,800
Less: Closing stock
May 3,000 units @ ` 2.00 6,000
June 500 units @ ` 2.20 1,100
Variable cost of goods sold 42,000 57,700
Contribution 63,000 88,050
Fixed costs: May June
Production 40,000 44,000
Marketing 14,000 15,400 54,000 59,400
Net profit 9,000 28,650
Question 7
X Ltd. manufactures a semiconductor for which the cost and price structure is given below:
` per unit
Selling price 500
Direct material 150
Direct labour 100
Variable overhead 50
Fixed cost = ` 2 lakhs.
The product is manufactured by a machine, whose spare part costing ` 2,000 needs
replacement after every 100 pieces of output. This is in addition to the above costs. Assume
that no defectives are produced and that the spare part is readily available in the market at all
times at ` 2,000.

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CVP Analysis and Decision Making 3.13

(i) Prepare the profitability statement for production levels of 2,000 units and 3,000 units,
when fixed cost = ` 1 lakhs.
(ii) What is the break-even point (BEP) for the above data?
(iii) Comment on the BEP, if the fixed cost can be reduced to ` 1,80,000 from the existing
level of 2 lakhs.
Answer
(i) X Ltd. Profitability Statement:

Volume Level
Particulars 2000 units 3000 units
`’000
Sales 1,000 1,500
Variable costs
Direct Material 300 450
Direct Labour 200 300
Variable overhead 100 150
Part costs* 40 60
Fixed cost 100 100
Total cost 740 1,060
Profit 260 440

2,000 3,000
*Part cost: × 2,000 = 40,000 × 60,000 = 2,000
100 100
(ii) For computing the BEP: Parts cost although a step fixed cost can be considered as
variable for the limited purpose of computing the range in which BEP occurs. The
 2,000 
variable parts cost per unit is ` 20  .
 100 
Range in which the BEP occur 1,00,000 2,00,000
= 555.55 = 1,111.11
(200 − 20) (200 − 20)

Range 501−600 1,101−1,200

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3.14 Advanced Management Accounting

General Fixed Cost 1,00,000* 2,00,000


Parts cost (6 × 2,000) = 12,000 (12 × 2,000) = 24,000
Total Fixed Cost 1,12,000 2,24,000
Gross Contribution/unit** 200 200
BEP 560 units 1,120 units

**Gross Contribution per unit


Sales –Direct Material – Direct Labour – Variable Overheads
` 500 – ` 150 – ` 100 –` 50 = ` 200
1,80,000
(iii) When fixed cost is ` 1,80,000. Range of BEP will be = 1,000 (901 − 1,000)
180
Since the BEP of 1,000 falls on the upper most limits in the range 901 – 1,000 there will
be one more BEP in the subsequent range in 1,001 – 1,100.
Range 901 – 1,000 1,001 – 1,100
` `
Gross fixed cost 1,80,000 1,80,000
Parts cost 20,000 22,000
10 × 2,000 11 × 2,000
Total fixed cost 2,00,000 2,02,000
Gross contribution/unit 200 200
BEP 1,000 units 1,010 units

Question 8
A company has produced 1,500 units against a budgeted quantity of 2,000 units. Actual sales
were 1,300 units. The company’s policy is to value stocks at standard absorption cost.
Other data are:
Direct material ` 100 per unit
Direct labour ` 100 per unit at normal efficiency
Variable OH ` 50 per unit
Fixed OH at budgeted capacity ` 1,00,000
Variable selling OH ` 26,000

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CVP Analysis and Decision Making 3.15

Budgeted fixed selling OH ` 30,000


Actual fixed selling OH ` 25,000
Selling price ` 400 per unit
There was no opening stock.
(i) Present the profitability statement under absorption costing system.
(ii) Assuming actual labour was 25% below normal efficiency and that 100 units of
production had to be scrapped after complete manufacture, compute the actual profit or
loss.
(iii) Reconcile the profits under (i) and (ii) above.
Answer
(i & ii) Profitability under absorption costing system Actual profit and loss account
Particulars ` 000’s Particulars ` 000’s
Sales (1,300×400) 520 Sales (1,300×400) 520
Absorption costs Closing Stock (100×300) 30
Opening Stock Nil Total 550
Cost of production Cost
1,500 units × 300 450 Direct materials (1,500×100) 150
Less: Closing stock (200×300) 60 Direct labour 200
(1,500×100/75%)
Net Absorption costs 390 Variable overhead 75
(1,500×50)
Add: Under-absorption 25 Fixed manufacturing 100
(500×50) overhead
Total absorption costs 415 Fixed Selling overhead 25
Gross profit 105 Variable selling overhead 26
Less: Selling overhead variable 26 Total costs 576
Selling overhead fixed 25
Profit/(loss) 54 Profit / (Loss) (26)

Working Notes:

` Units
Absorption cost per unit Budgeted capacity 2,000

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3.16 Advanced Management Accounting

Direct materials 100 Production 1,500


Direct labour 100 Under-absorption 500
Variable overhead 50 Sales 1,300
Fixed Overhead (1,00,000 / 2,000) 50 Closing stock 200
Total 300

(iii) Reconciliation
` 000’s
Profit under absorption costing 54
Less: Labour inefficiency** (50)
Less: Value of units scrapped (30)
Actual profit / (loss) (26)
** (1,500× (133 1/3−100)
Note: In case budgeted fixed selling overheads are considered while arriving at
absorption profit a saving of ` 5,000 shall need to be identified as part of reconciliation.
Question 9
The following information of a company is available for the year 2006:
`
Sales 40,000
Raw materials 20,000
Direct wages 6,000
Variable and fixed OH 10,000
Profit 4,000
Units sold 200 Nos.

In the year 2007, wages rate will increase by 50% and fixed cost will decrease by ` 600. If 300
units are sold in 2007, the total fixed and variable OH will be 11,400. How many units should
be sold in 2007, so that the same amount of profit per unit as in year 2006 may be earned?
Answer

Particulars (Data per unit) 2006 2007


` `
Selling price (40,000 /200) 200

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CVP Analysis and Decision Making 3.17

Raw materials (20,000 /200) 100


Direct wages (6,000 /200) 30 (30 ×150%) 45
Variable overhead 20
Total variable cost 165
Contribution 35
Profit per unit (4,000 /200) 20
Net contribution per unit to cover fixed overheads 15
Fixed overheads 6,000 5,400
No. of units 5,400/15 = 360 units

Working Notes:
No. of units sold 200 300
Total variable and fixed overheads 10,000 11,400 + 600 = 12,000
Differential cost in 2007 100 units ` 2,000
Variable overhead per unit 2,000 / 100 = 20
Total variable cost 4,000 6,000
Total fixed cost 6,000 (6,000 – 600) 5,400
Question 10
A company makes 1,500 units of a product for which the profitability statement is given below:
`
Sales 1,20,000
Direct materials 30,000
Direct labour 36,000
Variable OH 15,000
Subtotal variable cost 81,000
Fixed cost 16,800
Total cost 97,800
Profit 22,200

After the first 500 units of production, the company has to pay a premium of ` 6 per unit
towards overtime labour. The premium so paid has been included in the direct labour cost of `
36,000 given above.

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3.18 Advanced Management Accounting

You are required to compute the Break-even point.


Answer

Data / Unit 1 – 500 501 – 1,500


` `
Sales (1,20,000 / 1,500) 80 80
Direct material (20,000 / 1,000) 20 20
Direct labour 20 26
Variable overheads 15,000 / 1,500 10 10
Contribution 30 24
No. of units 500
Total contribution 15,000
Fixed costs 16,800
Shortfall 1,800
No. of units required above 500 to recover shortfall 1,800 / 24 = 75
Break even point (500 + 75) = 575 units

Let X be the Direct Labour per unit upto 500 units.


Total Direct Labour 500X + 1,000 (X + 6) = 36,000
1,500X + 6,000 = 36,000
X = 20.
Therefore, up to 500 units the Direct Labour is ` 20. After 500 units it is ` 26.
Question 11
A Ltd. Makes and sells a single product. The company’s trading results for the year are:
Figs. – ` ’000 (Year 2007)
Sales 3,000
Direct materials 900
Direct labour 600
Overheads 900 2,400
Profits 600

For the year 2008, the following are expected:

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CVP Analysis and Decision Making 3.19

(i) Reduction in the selling price by 10%.


(ii) Increase in the quantity sold by 50%.
(iii) Inflation of direct material cost by 8%.
(iv) Price inflation in variable overhead by 6%.
(v) Reduction of fixed overhead expenses by 25%.
It is also known that:
(a) In 2006, overhead expenditure totalled to ` 8,00,000.
(b) Total overhead cost inflation for 2007 has been 5% more than 2006.
(c) Production and sales volumes have been 25% higher in 2007 than in 2006.
The high-low method is being used by the company to estimate overhead expenditure.
You are required to:
(i) Prepare a statement showing the estimated trading results for 2008.
(ii) Calculate the Break-even point for 2007 and 2008.
(iii) Comment on the BEP and profits of the years 2007 and 2008.
Answer
(a) (i) Trading Results
Figures ` ’000
2006 2007 2008 Workings
Sales: 3,000 4,050 (3,000 × 1.5 × .9)
(Refer to Note 1)
Direct Material 900 1,458 (900 × 1.5 × 1.08)
Direct Labour 600 900 (600 × 1.5 × 1)
Variable 300* 477 (300 × 1.06 × 1.5)
Overhead (Refer Note 2)
Total Variable 1,800 2,835 Total variable cost
Cost
Contribution 1,200 1,215
Fixed Overhead 600 450 (600 × .75)
(Refer to Note 3)
Total Overhead 800 900 927

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3.20 Advanced Management Accounting

Total Cost 2,400 3,285


Profits 600 765

(ii) P/V Ratio Contribution/ Sales 40% 30%


600 450
BEP Fixed Cost/PV Ratio = 1,500 = 1,500
40% 30%
(Note 1) 3,000 × 1.5 × 0.9
(Note 2) Overhead Cost in 2006 = 800
Increase in price = 5%
∴ Overhead cost for same production 800 × 5% + 800 = 840.
Overhead increase due to quantity = 900 – 840 = ` 60
` 60 represents increase in variable Overhead in 2007 due to increase
in quantity by 25%.
1
∴ Variable Overhead amount in 2007 = 1 times
4
5 1 
i.e. = 5 times  th quantity  = 5 × 60 = 300
4 4 
(Note 3)
In 2007 Total Overhead 900
Variable Overhead (Refer to Note 2) 300
Fixed Overhead 600
(iii)
2007 2008 Difference %
BEP 1,500 1,500 0
Fixed Overhead 600 450 150 25%
PV Ratio 40% 30% 10% 10
25%
40
Profit 600 765 165 27.5%
Fixed Cost
BEP =
P/V ratio

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CVP Analysis and Decision Making 3.21

Both Fixed Cost and P/V ratio have declined by 25% equally. So BEP sales remains
the same.
The contribution is only ` 1,215 in 2008 though quantity is increased by 50%. This is
due to increase in production cost and decrease in selling price. This is more than
made up by decrease in fixed cost so that overall profit has increased by 27.5%.
Alternative Solution (for identifying variability and fixedness of overheads):
V1q1 = Variable Overhead / unit in 2007 × quantity in 2007
V2q2 = Variable Overhead / unit in 2008 × quantity in 2008
V2q2 = V1(1.06) (1.5)q1 = 1.59 v1q1
V0 q0 + F0 = 800
V1 q0 + F0 = 840 where q0 × 1.25 = q1
V1 q0 − V0 q0 = 40
V0q0 = V1 q0 − 40
5
V1 q0 + F1 – (V0 q0 + F0) = × 800 = 40
100
i.e. V1 q0 + F1 = 840
V1 q1 + F1 = 900
V1 (q0 − q1) = −60
V1 (q1 − 1.25q) = −60 × 1.25
V1 (−.25)q1 = −75
− 75
V1q 1 = = 300
− .25
Variable Overhead 300
Year 2007
Fixed Overhead 600
900
Question 12
Draw and explain the angle of incidence in a break-even chart. What is its significance to the
management?

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3.22 Advanced Management Accounting

Answer
(c)

C
Cost & Revenue (Rs.)

les
Sa
ta l
To B

st
l Co
Tota
Q

A D

0
Units (Nos.)

Angle of incidence (0) is the angle between the total cost line and the total sales line.
If the angle is large, the firm is said to make profits at a high rate and vice-versa.
A high angle of incidence and a high margin of safety indicate sound business conditions.
Question 13
A single product manufacturing company has an installed capacity of 3,00,000 units per
annum. The normal capacity utilization of the company is 90%. The company has prepared
the following budget for a year:

Variable costs:
Factory costs ` 33 per unit
Selling and Administration costs ` 9 per unit
Fixed costs:
Factory costs ` 21,60,000
Selling and Administration costs ` 7,56,000
Selling Price
Selling price per unit ` 60

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CVP Analysis and Decision Making 3.23

The actual production, sales, price and cost data relating to the year under review are as
given below:
Production 2,40,000 units
Sales 2,25,000 units
Finished goods stock in the beginning of the year: 15,000 units
Actual factory variable costs exceeded the budget by ` 1,20,000
Required:
(i) Calculate the budgeted profit and break-even point in units.
(ii) What increase in selling price was necessary during the year under review to maintain
the budgeted profit?
(iii) Prepare statements showing the actual profit during the year under review by using (1)
absorption costing method and (2) marginal costing method.
Answer
(i) Contribution per unit:
` `
Selling price per unit 60
Variable costs per unit:
Factory 33
Selling & Administration 9 42
Contribution per unit (Selling price – Variable cost) 18

Budgeted Profit:

Units ` `
Installed capacity 3,00,000
Normal capacity utilization (3,00,000 × 90%) 2,70,000
Total contribution (A) (Contribution per unit ×
Normal capacity utilization) (2,70,000 × 18) 48,60,000
Fixed Costs (B)
Factory Costs 21,60,000
Selling and Administration costs 7,56,000 29,16,000
Profit (A – B) 19,44,000

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3.24 Advanced Management Accounting

Fixed costs 29,16,000


Break - even point (in units) = = = 1,62,000.
Contribution per unit 18
(ii) 1. Actual variable costs per unit ` `
Budgeted factory costs 33
Increase in Factory costs per unit
 1,20,000 
  0.50 33.50
 2,40,000 
Selling and Administration costs 9.00
42.50
2. Selling price required to maintain the budgeted profit:
A. Total contribution required (`) 48,60,000
B. Actual production (units) 2,40,000
C. Contribution desired per unit (A ÷ B) (`) 20.25
D. Variable cost per unit (`) 42.50
E. Selling price required to maintain budgeted profit
(C + D) (`) 62.75
F. Increase in selling price necessary ` (62.75 – 60) 2.75
(iii) Fixed overhead recovery rate:
Fixed factory overheads ` 21,60,000
Normal Production 2,70,000 units
Absorption Rate per unit : 21,60,000 / 2,70,000 = ` 8
Stock analysis:

Units
Opening stocks 15,000
Add: Production 2,40,000
Total 2,55,000
Less: Sales 2,25,000
Closing stocks 30,000

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CVP Analysis and Decision Making 3.25

1. Profitability based on Absorption Costing Method:


` `
A. Sales (2,25,000 units @ ` 60) 1,35,00,000
B. Production costs:
Variable factory cost:(2,40,000 units × ` 33) 79,20,000
Increase in cost 1,20,000
Fixed factory costs (2,40,000 units × ` 8) 19,20,000
Total production costs 99,60,000
Less: Closing stock
(30,000 units × 99,60,000) / 2,40,000 12,45,000
87,15,000
Add: Opening stock 15,000 units × ` 41* 6,15,000
Production cost of goods sold 93,30,000
C. Selling and Administration Costs:
Variable costs: 2,25,000 units × ` 9 20,25,000
Fixed Costs 7,56,000 27,81,000
D. Less: Total cost of goods sold (B + C) 1,21,11,000
13,89,000
Less: Under absorption of factory fixed overheads
(2,40,000 – 2,70,000 units) × ` 8 2,40,000
Profit 11,49,000

Cost of opening stock (per unit) = Variable Factory cost + Fixed overhead
recovery rate
= ` 33 per unit + ` 8 per unit = ` 41 per unit.
Profitability based on Marginal Costing Method:
` `
A Sales (2,25,000 units @ ` 60) 1,35,00,000
Production variable costs:
Variable cost (2,40,000 units × ` 33) 79,20,000
Increase in cost 1,20,000
Total 80,40,000

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3.26 Advanced Management Accounting

Less: Closing stock:


(30,000 × 80,40,000) / 2,40,000 10,05,000
70,35,000
Add: Opening Stock (15,000 units × ` 33) 4,95,000
B Production variable cost of goods sold 75,30,000
C Variable Selling & Administrative Expenses 20,25,000
(2,25,000 × ` 9)
D Total variable costs (B + C) 95,55,000
E Contribution (A − D) 39,45,000
F Less: Fixed overheads: Factory 21,60,000
Selling & Administration 7,56,000 29,16,000
G Profit (E − F) 10,29,000

Question 14
Paints Ltd. manufactures 2,00,000 tins of paint at normal capacity. It incurs the following
manufacturing costs per unit:
`
Direct material 7.80
Direct labour 2.10
Variable overhead 2.50
Fixed overhead 4.00
Production cost / unit 16.40

Each unit is sold for ` 21, with an additional variable selling overhead incurred at
` 0.60 per unit.
During the next quarter, only 10,000 units can be produced and sold. Management plans to
shut down the plant estimating that the fixed manufacturing cost can be reduced to ` 74,000
for the quarter.
When the plant is operating, the fixed overheads are incurred at a uniform rate throughout the
year. Additional costs of plant shut down for the quarter are estimated at ` 14,000.
You are required:
(i) To advise whether it is more economical to shut down the plant during the quarter
rather than operate the plant.

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CVP Analysis and Decision Making 3.27

(ii) Calculate the shut down point for the quarter in terms of numbering units.
Answer
Contribution per tin = Selling Price – Variable cost
= 21 – (7.8 + 2.1+ 2.5 + 0.6) = ` 8 per tin.
Loss on operation:
Fixed cost per annum = 2,00,000 units × 4 per unit = 8 lakhs.
8
∴ Fixed cost for 1 quarter = = 2 lakhs
4
`
Fixed cost for the quarter 2,00,000
Less: Contribution on operation (8 × 10,000) 80,000
Expected loss on operation (1,20,000)
Loss on shut down:
`
Unavoidable Fixed Cost 74,000
Additional shut down cost 14,000
Loss on shut-down (88,000)
Conclusion: Better to shut down and save ` 32,000.
Avoidable Fixed Cost 2,00,000 − 88,000
Shut-down point (number of units) = =
Contribution per unit 8
1,12,000
= = 14,000 units.
8
Question 15
TQM Limited makes engines for motor cars for its parent company and for two other motor car
manufacturers.
On 31st December, the company has sufficient work order for January and one further order
for 21,000 engines. Due to recession in the economy, no further order are expected until May
when it is hoped economic prospect for the motor car industry will have improved. Recently
factory has been working at only 75% of full capacity and the order for 21,000 engines
represents about one month production at this level of activity.
The board of directors are currently considering following two options:

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3.28 Advanced Management Accounting

(i) Complete the order in February and close the factory in March and April.
OR
(ii) Operate at 25 per cent of full capacity for each of three months of February, March and April.
The costs per month at different levels of activities are as. follows:
At 75% (`) At 25% (`) Idle (`)
Direct Material 5,25,000 1,75,000 --
Direct Labour 5,23,600 1,73,250 --
Factory overhead:
Indirect material 8,400 4,900 4,900
Indirect labour 1,01,500 59,500 --
Indirect expenses:
Repairs and maintenance 28,000 28,000 --
Others expenses 52,500 34,300 26,600
Office overheads:
Staff salaries 1,48,400 98,000 67,550
Other overheads 28,000 19,950 11,200
Other information is as follows:
• Material cost and labour cost will not be incurred where there is no production.
• On the reopening of the factory, one time cost of training and engagement of new
personnel would be `65,800 and overhauling cost of plant would be `14,000.
• Parent company can purchase engines from open market at reasonable price.
Required:
(i) To express your opinion, along with calculations, as to whether the plant should
be shut down during the month of March and April or operate 25% of full
capacity for three months.
(ii) To list and comment on cost and non-costs factors which might to relevant to the
discussion.
Answer
(i)
Option I Option II
At 75% in Feb and close in At 25% each from Feb –
March and April (`) April (`)
Direct Material 5,25,000 5,25,000

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CVP Analysis and Decision Making 3.29

Direct Labour 5,23,600 5,19,750


10,48,600 10,44,750
Factory Overhead :
Indirect Material 8,400 14,700
Two months idle 9,800
Indirect Labour 1,01,500 1,78,500
Training cost 65,800
Indirect Exp. :
Repairs & Maintenance 28,000 84,000
Over hauling cost 14,000
Others Expenses 52,500 1,02,900
Idle × 2 53,200
Office overhead:
Staff Salaries 1,48,400 2,94,000
Idle 67,550 × 2 1,35,100
Other overheads 28,000 59,850
Idle 22,400
Total overhead cost 6,67,100 7,33,950
Total cost 17,15,700 17,78,700

The more economic course of action is to operate at 75% capacity for a month only,
and close the plant for March and April. This option will save (`17,78,700 –
`17,15,700) = `63,000.
(ii) Cost Factors and Non Cost Factors
In regard to the decision on close down of operations or continuing with operations, the
factors to be considered are:
(a) Cost factors:
(1) The proposal which involves the lower total costs will be selected.
(2) If the company has contracted the purchases from high qulaity and high
price suppliers, a change in the procurement policy to ‘shop around’ may
be considered to obtain economics in purchases.
(3) The services of unskilled labour, if any, who do not require re-training
may be dispensed with. They may be recruited and put on work without
incurring training cost on re-opening of the factory. This will save training

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3.30 Advanced Management Accounting

and idle time cost.


(4) The possibility of wage freeze may reluctantly be considered as an
extreme measure.
Question 16
Fairbilt Furniture Ltd. manufactures three products: Tables, Chairs and Cabinets. The
company is in the process of finalizing the plans for the coming year; hence the executives
thought it would be prudent to have a look at the product-wise performance during the current
year. The following information is furnished:
Tables Chairs Cabinets
Unit selling price 80 60 36
Direct material 28 24 16
Direct labour 20 12 12
Factory overheads:
Variable 8 6 4
Fixed 8 6 1.28
Cost of production 64 48 33.28
Selling, distribution and general administration expenses :
Variable 4 2 2
Fixed 4 6 1.52
Unit cost (I) 72 56 36.80
Unit profit (loss) (II) 8 4 (0.80)
Sales volume (units) 10,000 15,000 15,000
Profit (loss) 80,000 60,000 (12,000)
For the coming period, the selling prices and the cost of three products are expected to remain
unchanged. There will be an increase in the sales of tables by 1,000 units and the increase in
sales of cabinets is expected to be 8,000 units. The sales of chairs will remain to be
unchanged. Sufficient additional capacity exists to enable the increased demands to be met
without incurring additional fixed costs. Some among the executives contend that it will be
unwise to go for additional production and sale of cabinets, since it is already making losses at
`0.80 per unit. The suggestion is that cabinets should be eliminated altogether.
Do you agree? Substantiate with necessary analysis and determine the product wise and
overall profits for the coming year.
Answer
Note: Reconciliation of the figures given for ‘cabinets’ reveals the fact that the selling price is
36(36.80 – .80)

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CVP Analysis and Decision Making 3.31

Fairbilt Furniture Ltd.


Statement showing Product-wise Contribution and Total Profit
Tables Chairs Cabinets Total
Per Unit Total Per unit Total Per unit Total
Sales volume 10,000 15,000 15,000
(units
Selling price (`) 80 800,000 60 900,000 36 540,000 22,40,000
Direct Material 28 280,000 24 360,000 16 240,000 880,000
Direct Labour 20 200,000 12 180,000 12 180,000 560,000
Variable factory 8 80,000 6 90,000 4 60,000 230,000
overheads
Variable selling, 4 40,000 2 30,000 2 30,000 100,000
distribution and
administration
overhead
Total variable cost 60 600,000 44 660,000 34 510,000 1,770,000
Contribution 20 200,000 16 240,000 2 30,000 470,000
Fixed factory 80,000 90,000 19,200 189,200
overheads
Fixed selling, 40,000 90,000 22,800 152,800
distribution and
administration
overheads
Total fixed 342,000
overheads
Total Profit 128,000
The above analysis shows the cabinets make a contribution of `2 per unit. The loss sustained
in the previous year is because of the falling sales volume below breakeven level.
Fairbilt Furniture Ltd.
Budgeted Performance for the Coming Year
Tables Chairs Cabinets
Unit Contribution (`) 20 16 2
Sales Volume (Units) 11,000 15,000 23,000
Total Contribution (`) 220,000 240,000 40,000
Less: Fixed Cost (`) 120,000 180,000 42,000
Profit (`) 100,000 60,000 4,000

© The Institute of Chartered Accountants of India


3.32 Advanced Management Accounting

The company makes a total profit of `164,000 if all the products are continued. However, if
the production of cabinets is discontinued, there will be an adverse effect on the overall profit
of the company. This is because cabinets also contribute toward meeting the fixed costs of the
company.
Question 17
An agro-products producer company is planning its production for next year. The following
information is relating to the current year:
Products/Corps A1 A2 B1 B2
Area occupied (acres) 250 200 300 250
Yield per acre (ton) 50 40 45 60
Selling price per ton (`) 200 250 300 270
Variable cost per acre (`)
Seeds 300 250 450 400
Pesticides 150 200 300 250
Fertilizers 125 75 100 125
Cultivations 125 75 100 125
Direct wages 4,000 4,500 5,000 5,700

Fixed overhead per annum (`) 53,76,000.


The land that is being used for the production of B1 and B2 can be used for either crop, but
not for A1 and A2. The land that is being used for A1 and A2 can be used for either crop, but
not for B1 and B2. In order to provide adequate market service, the company must produce
each year t least 2,000 tons each of A1 and A2 and 1,800 tons each of B1 and B2.
You are required to:
(i) Prepare a statement of the profit for the current year.
(ii) Profit for the production mix by fulfilling market commitment.
(iii) Assuming that the land could be cultivated to produce any of the four products and
there was no market commitment, calculate: Profit amount of most profitable crop and
break-even point of most profitable crop in terms of acres and sales value.
Answer
(i) Calculation of selling price and contribution per acre:
Products A1 A2 B1 B2 Total
Yield per acre in (tones) 50 40 45 60

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CVP Analysis and Decision Making 3.33

Selling price per tones (`) 200 250 300 270


Sales revenue per acre (`) 10,000 10,000 13,500 16,200
Variable cost per acre (`) 4,700 5,100 5,950 6,600
Contribution per acre (`) 5,300 4,900 7,550 9,600
Area (acres) 2,50 200 300 250
Total contribution (`) 13,25,000 9,80,000 22,65,000 24,00,000 69,70,000
Less: Fixed Cost 53,76,000
Profit (`) 15,94,000
(ii) Profit Statement for recommended mix
Products A1 A2 B1 B2 Total
Contribution per acre 5300 4900 7550 9600
Rank 1 2 2 1
Minimum Sales 2000/40 = 1800/45 =
Requirement in acres 50 40
Recommended Mix (in 400 50 40 510
Acres)
Total Contribution (`) 21,20,000 2,45,000 3,02,000 48,96,000 75,63,000
Less: Fixed Cost 53,76,000
Profit 21,87,000
(iii) Most profitable crop: Production should be concentrated on B2 which gives highest
contribution per acres `9,600.
Overall contribution if complete land is used for B2 (1,000 × 9,600) = `96,00,000
Less: Fixed Cost = `53,76,000
Profit: = `42,24,000
Break even point in acres for B2 = 5376000 ÷ 9600 = 560 acres
Break even point in sales value = 560 × (270 × 60) = `90, 72,000
Question 18
LMV Limited manufactures product Z in departments A and B which also manufacture other
products using same plant and machinery. The information of product Z is as follows:
Items Department A (`) Department B (`)
Direct material per unit 30 25
Direct labour per unit (`10 per hour) 30 40
Overhead rates:
Fixed 8 per hour 4 per hour

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3.34 Advanced Management Accounting

Variable 6 per hour 3 per hour


Value of Plant and Machinery 25 lakhs 15 lakhs
Overheads are recovered on the basis of direct labour hours. Variable selling and distribution
overheads relating to product Z are amounting to `30, 000 per month. The product requires a
working capital of `4, 00,000 at the target volume of 1,500 units per month occupying 30 per
cent of practical capacity.
You are required:
(i) To calculate the price of product Z to yield a contribution to cover 21 percent rate of
return on investment.
(ii) Set the minimum selling price of the product if (1) the product is well established in the
market; (2) the product is first time launched in the market.
Answer
(i) Statement showing price of Product Z
Direct Material Deptt. A 30
Deptt. B 25 55
Direct Labour Deptt. A 30
Deptt. B 40 70
Variable overhead Deptt. A 3×6 18
Deptt B 4×3 12 30
Variable selling and distribution overhead 30,000/1,500 20
Total Variable Cost per unit 175
Total hours required for a target of 1,500 units of product Z
Deptt. A1500 × 3 4500 hours
Deptt. B1500 × 4 6000 hours
10500 hours
10500 hours represent 30% capacity
So total capacity per month 10500 / 0.30 = 35000 hours.
Yearly capacity is 35000 × 12 = 420000 hours.
Fixed capital employed in both department = 40.00 Lakhs
(25 lakhs + 15 Lakhs)

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CVP Analysis and Decision Making 3.35

Expected return = 0.21 × 40,00,000 = 840000


Contribution per hour = 840000 / 4200000 = 2.00 per hour
Working Capital = 0.21 × 400000 = 84000
Contribution per unit 84000 / 18000 unit = 4.67 per unit
Total contribution required `
To cover fixed cost 3 hours of A and 4 of B = 7 × 2 = 14.00
To working capital = 4.67
18.67
Fixed charges recovery is based on usage. Full capacity is not being used by product Z
and departments are also producing other products using same plant and machinery.
Price of Product = Variable cost + contribution required = 175 + 18.67 = 193.67 per
unit.
(ii) Price of product when product is well established in market:
Variable Cost 175
Fixed Cost (24 + 16) 40
Total price 215
The product is first time launched in the market, and then variable cost `175 should form the
basis for price fixation.
and earn an additional contribution.
Question 19

6000 pen drives of 2 GB to be sold in a perfectly competitive market to earn ` 1,06,000 profit,
whereas in a monopoly market only 1200 units are required to be sold to earn the same profit.
The fixed costs for the period are ` 74,000 . the contribution per unit in the monopoly market
is as high as three fourths its variable cost. Determine the targets selling price per unit under
each market condition.
Answer
Perfect Competition Monopoly
Units 6,000 1,200
Contribution (1,06,000 + 74,000) 1,80,000 1,80,000
Contribution per unit 30 150

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3.36 Advanced Management Accounting

3 200
Variable Cost per unit 150 ÷
4
Variable Cost per unit 200
Selling Price per unit 230 350
Question 20
Vikram Ltd. produces 4 products using 3 different machines. Machine capacity is limited to
3,000 hours for each machine. The following information is available for February, 2009
Products A B C D
Contribution (Sales-direct material) ` 1,500 1,200 1,000 600
Machine Hours Required/Unit :
Machine 1 10 6 2 1
Machine 2 10 9 3 1.5
Machine 3 10 3 1 0.5
Estimated Demand (units) 200 200 200 200
From the above information you are required to identify the bottleneck activity and allocate the
machine time.
Answer
Machine Time required for products Total Time Machine
A B C D Time Available utilization
1 2000 1200 400 200 3800 3000 126.67%
2 2000 1800 600 300 4700 3000 156.67%
3 2000 600 200 100 2900 3000 96.67%
Since Machine 2 has the highest machine Utilization it represents the bottleneck activity hence
product, ranking & resource allocation should be based on contribution/machine hour of
Machine 2.

Allocation of Resources
A B C D Machine Spare
Utilization Capacity
Contribution per unit (` ) 1500 1200 1000 600
Time required in Machine 2 10 9 3 1.5
Contribution per Machine 150 133.33 333.33 400
– hour (` )
Rank as per contribution / 3rd 4th 2nd 1st

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CVP Analysis and Decision Making 3.37

mach. Hour
Allocation of Machine 2 200×10 = 100 200×3 = 200×1.5 = 3000
time 2000 (balancing 600 300
figure)
Production Quantity 200 100/9=11. 200 200
11
Allocation Machine 1 time 2000 11.11×6 = 400 200 2666.66 333.34
66.66
Allocation of Machine 3 2000 11.11×3 = 200 100 2333.33 666.67
time 33.33
Question 21
G Ltd. produces and sells 95,000 units of ‘X’ in a year at its 80% production capacity. The
selling price of product is ` 8 per unit. The variable cost is 75% of sales price per unit. The
fixed cost is ` 3,50,000. The company is continuously incurring losses and management
plans to shut-down the plant. The fixed cost is expected to be reduced to `1,30,000.
Additional costs of plant shut-down are expected at `15,000.
Should the plant be shut-down? What is the capacity level of production of shut-down point?
Answer
If plant is continued If plant is shutdown
Sales 7,60,000 -
Less: Variable Cost 5,70,000 -
Contribution 1,90,000
Less: Fixed Cost 3,50,000 1,30,000
Additional Cost 15,000
Operating Loss 1,60,000 1,45,000
A comparison of loss figures indicated as above points out that loss is reduced by (16,000-
14,500) ` 15,000 if plant is shut down.
3,50,000 − 14,5000 20,500
Shut down point = = = 1,02,500 units
8−6 2
Capacity level of shut down point:
95,000
At 100% level production is = 1,18,750
0.80
1,02,500
Capacity level at shut down = = 86.31%
1,18,750

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3.38 Advanced Management Accounting

Alternative Solution
`
If the plant is shut down, the sunk cost or fixed expenses 1,45,000
If it is working at 80% capacity, the fixed cost 3,50,000
Additional fixed expenses 2,05,000
Contribution (95000*2) 1,90,000
Incremental Loss on Continuing 15,000
Decision - better to shut down
Production at shut-down point
2 x – 350000 = 1,45,000
2x = 2,05,000
x = 1,02,500 Units
Capacity % = 1,02,500/(95,000/0.8) = 86.31%
Question 22
E Ltd. manufactures and sells four types of products under the brand names A, B, C and D.
On a turnover of ` 30 crores in 2009, company earned a profit of 10% before interest and
depreciation which are fixed. The details of product mix and other information are as follows:
Products Mix% to total sales PV Ratio (5) Raw material as % on
sales value
A 30 20 35
B 10 30 40
C 20 40 50
D 40 10 60
Interest and depreciation amounted to `225 lakhs and ` 115.50 lakhs respectively. Due to
increase in prices in the international market, the company anticipates that the cost of raw
materials which are imported will increase by 10% during 2010. The company has been able
to secure a license for the import of raw materials of a value of ` 1,535 lakhs at 2010 prices.
In order to counteract the increase in costs of raw materials, the company is contemplating to
revise its product mix. The market survey report indicates that the sales potential of each of
the products: ‘A’, ‘B’ and ‘C’ can be increased upto 30% of total sales value of 2009. There
was no inventory of finished goods or work in progress in both the year.
You are required to :
Set an optimal product mix for 2010 and find the profitability.

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CVP Analysis and Decision Making 3.39

Answer
Revised P/V ratio and ranking of products:
Increase in Revised raw
Existing Contribution per
Raw material Revised material as
Product P/V ratio ` 100 of raw Rank
cost as % of P/V Ratio % of sale
% material %
sales value value
A 20 3.5 16.5 38.50 42.86% III
B 30 4 26 44.00 59.09% II
C 40 5 35 55.00 63.64% I
D 10 6 4 66.00 6.06% IV
Maximum Sales potential
A 30 % ` 3000 900
B 30 % ` 3000 900
C 30 % ` 3000 900
D 40 % of 3000 1200
Allocation of raw material whose supply is restricted to ` 1535 lacs in order of raw material
profitability.
Raw Material
Sales Raw Material Balance Raw
Product Rank per ` 100
` . In lacs Equired Material
Lacs Sales
C I 900 55 495 1040
B II 900 44 396 644
A III 900 38.5 346.5 297.5
D IV 451** 66 297.5* 0
* Balancing figure, hence sales will be restricted to 451** lakhs ( 297.5/66%)
Profitability Statement ` In
Lakhs
Existing (2009) Proposed(2010)
Product Sales P/V Ratio Contribution Sales P/V Ratio Contribution
A 900 20 180 900 16.5 148.5
B 300 30 90 900 26 234
C 600 40 240 900 35 315

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3.40 Advanced Management Accounting

D 1200 10 120 451 4 18.04


Total 3000 1630 3151 3715.54

Less : Fixed Costs* 2330 330


Profit before Dep and Int. 300 385.54
Less :Depreciation 225 225.00
Less :Interest 115.5 115.50
Profit before tax (40.5) 45.04
* Balancing figure(Contribution - Profit before Depreciation & Interest)
The increase of contribution of ` 85.54 in 2010 will set off loss of ` 40.50 lakhs and result in
profit of ` 45.04 lakhs.
Question 23
The following information is given by Z Ltd.:
Margin of safety ` 1,87,500
Total cost ` 1,93,750
Margin of safety 7500 units
Break-even sales 2500 units
Required:
Calculate Profit, P/V Ratio, BEP Sales (in ` )and Fixed Cost.
Answer
Margin of Safety(%) = MoS Units/Actual Sales Units
= 7500/(7500+2500) = 75%
Total Sales = 187500/0.75 = ` 2,50,000/-
Profit = Total sales – Total Cost
= 250000 – 193750 = ` 56250
P/V Ratio = Profit/MoS (` ) × 100
= 56250/187500 × 100 = 30%
BEP Sales = Total Sales / (100 – MS)
= 2,50,000 × 0.25 = ` 62,500
Fixed Cost = Sales x P/V Ratio
= 250000 × 0.30-56250 = 18750

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CVP Analysis and Decision Making 3.41

Alternate Answer 1
Margin of Safety = Selling Price per unit × ( 7500 units)
` 187500 = Selling Price per unit × ( 7500 units)
Therefore ,
Selling Price per unit = 187500/7500 =` 25
Profit `
Sales 10000 × 25 2,50,000
Less: Total Cost 1,93,750
Profit 56,250
P/V Ratio Profit/Margin of Safety
56250/187500= 30%
BEP Sales 2500 ×25 ` 62,500
Fixed Cost 62500 × 30%= ` 18,750
Alternative Answer 2
Selling price = ` 187500/ 7500 = ` 25
Total Cost at Break Even point=` 25 × 2500 = 62500 = Break Even Sales
(Total Cost – Total Cost of BE)/(Total Units – Break Even Units) = Variable Cost per Unit
(93,750 – 62,500)/(10,000 – 2,500) = 1,31,250/7,500 = ` 17.50 per unit
Selling Price = 25.00
Variable Cost = 17.50
Contribution = 7.50
P/V Ratio = 7.50/25
= 30%
Fixed Cost = 7.50 × 2500 units
= ` 18750.
Profit = 7.50 × 7500 = ` 56,250
Question 24
Calculate the selling price per unit to earn a return of 12% net on capital employed (net of tax
@40%). The cost of production and sales of 80,000 units are:
Variable cost including material cost ` 9,60,000

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3.42 Advanced Management Accounting

Fixed overheads ` 5,00,000


The fixed portion of capital employed is ` 12 lakhs and the varying portion is 50% of sales
turnover.
Answer
Let 'x' be the selling price per unit, Therefore, Turnover = 80000 x
Capital Employed = 1200000+40000 x
Return on capital employed after tax = 12%
Therefore,
Return on capital employed before tax = 12/0.6
= 20%
Therefore,
Return on capital employed before tax = 20% of (1200000+40000x) = 240000+8000x
Sales 80000 x
Variable Cost 960000
Fixed Cost 500000
Profit 80000x – 1460000
Therefore
80000x – 1460000 = 240000 + 8000x
72000x = 1700000
X = ` 23.61

Alternative Answer
Selling price per unit should cover Variable cost unit, Fixed Cost per unit and ROCE per unit
Fixed Capital Employed = ` 12 lacs
Required Return (net of tax) = 12% = ` 1,44,000
Pre tax return = 1,44,000 / 0.6 = ` 2,40,000
Let Selling Price per unit = X
X = (14,60,000+2,40,000)/20,000 + (12% of 50% of X)/0.6
= 17,00,000/20,000 + 6/100 × 1/0.6 X
X(1- 0.1) = 21.25
X = 21.25/0.9 = ` 23.61 per unit

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CVP Analysis and Decision Making 3.43

Required Selling price = ` 23.61


If a student has arrived at ` 23.61, full 4 marks may be given even if the intermediary steps
are not adequately shown.
Question 25
Entertain U Ltd. hires an air-conditioned theatre to stage plays on weekend evenings. One
play is staged pea evening. The following are the seating arrangements:
VIP rows-the first 3 rows of 30 seas per row, priced at ` 320 per seat.
Middle level-the next 18 rows of 20 seats per row priced at ` 250 per sea.
Last level -6 rows of 30 seats per room priced at ` 120 per seat.
For each evening a drama troup has to be hired at ` 71,000, rent has to be paid for the
theatre at ` 14,000 per evening and air conditioning and other state arrangements charges
work out to ` 7,400 per evening. Every time a play is staged, the drama troup’s friends and
guests occupy the first row of the VIP class, free or charged. by virtue of passes granted to
these guest. the troupe ensures that 50% of the remaining seats of the VIP class and 50% of
the seats of the other two classes are sold to outsiders in advance and the money is passed
on to Entertain U. The troupe also finds for every evening, a sponsor who pouts up his
advertisements banner near the stage and pays Entertain U a sum of ` 9,000 per evening.
Entertain U supplies snacks during though interval free of charge to all the guests in the hall,
including the VIP free guests. The snacks cost Entertain U ` 20 per person. Entertain U sells
the remaining tickets and observes that for every one seat demanded from the last level, there
are 3 seats demanded from the middle level and 1 seat demanded from the VIP level. You
may assume that in case any level is filled, the visitor busy the next higher or lower level,
subject to availability.
(i) You are required to calculate the number of seats that Entertain U has to sell in order to
break-even and give the categorywise total seat occupancy at BEP.
(ii) Instead of the given pattern of demand, if Entertain U finds that the demand for VIP,
Middle and Last level is in the ratio 2:2:5, how many seats each category will Entertain U
have to sell in order to break-even.?
Answer
(i) Fixed Costs
` `
Troupe hire 71,000
Rent 14,000

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3.44 Advanced Management Accounting

A/C 7,400
VIP Snacks 600 93,000
Fixed Revenues:
Seats Sold by the troupe 54,000
Sponsor’s advertisement 9,000 63,000
Net fixed costs recovered by Entertain U to Break even 30,000
Seats Sold by the troupe 54,000
Sponsor’s advertisement 9,000
63,000
VIP Med Lost
Total seats available 90 360 180
Less: Free 30
Less: Sold by troupe 30 180 90

Can be sold by Entertain U 30 180 90

Row Price 320 220 120


Variable cost 20 20 20
(Snacks)
Contribution per seat 300 200 100
Demand 1 : 3 : 1
300 × 1 + 200 × 3 + 100 × 1 300 + 600 + 100 1000
= = = = 200
1+ 3 + 1 5 5
30,000
∴ Break Even Point for EntertianU = ` = 150 No. of seats
200
VIP Rows Middle Level Last Level
BF Seats Total 150 30 90 30
Contribution per unit 300 200 100
Contribution (`) 9,000 18,000 3,000 ` 30,000
Category wise occupancy at Break Even Point
VIP 30+30+30 = 90
Middle = 90+180 = 270
Last = 120

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CVP Analysis and Decision Making 3.45

(ii) If demand is in the ratio 2 : 2 : 5


2 × 300 + 2 × 200 + 5 × 100
Weighted contribution per seats =
9
600 + 400 + 500 1500 30,000
= = = × 9 = 180 seats
9 9 1,500
Ratio 40 40 100
Quantity available 30 180 90
Break Even quantity 30 10 90
10 10
30 60 90
Contribution per unit 300 200 100
No. of seats 30 60 90
Contribution ` 9,000 12,000 9,000
Total = 30,000
EXERCISE
Question 1
AB Ltd. Manufacture foam, carpets and upholstery in its there divisions. Its operating
statement for 1995-96 showing the performance of these divisions drawn for the use of
management is reproduced below:
(` in ‘000)
Manufacturing Divisions Total
Foam Carpets Upholstery
Sales revenue 1,600 (A) 1,200 1,200 4,000
Manufacturing Costs Variable 1,200 700 680 2,580
Fixed (Traceable) - 100 20 120
1,200 800 700 2,700
Gross Profit 400 400 500 1,300
Expenses: Administration 134 116 172 422
Selling 202 210 232 644
336 326 404 (B) 1,066
Net Income 64 74 96 234
Division’s Ranking 3 rd 2 nd 1 st -
(A) Sales include foam transferred to the Upholstery division at its manufacturing cost
`2,00,000.

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3.46 Advanced Management Accounting

(B) Common expenses of `1,30,000 and `1,00,000 on account of administration and


selling respectively stand apportioned to these divisions at 10% of Gross Profit in case
of administration and 2.5 % of Sales in case of selling expense. Rest of `8,36,000 of
the expense are traceable to respective divisions.
The manager of the foam division is not satisfied with the above approach of presenting
operating performance. In his opinion his division is best among all the divisions. He
requests the management for preparation of revised operating statement using
contribution approach and showing internal transfer at market price.
You are required to:
(a) Draw the revised operating Statement using contribution approach and pricing
the internal transfer at market price.
(b) Compute relevant rations to show comparative profitability of these division and
rank them in the light of your answer at (a) above. Further, other your comments
on the contention of the manager of foam division.
(c) State why the contribution approach and pricing of internal transfer at market price
are more appropriate in realistic assessment of the performance of various divisions.
Answer
(`’000)
Divisions Foam Carpets Upholstery Total
(a) Contribution: 480 500 440 1,420
(b) Fixed Cost 256 356 344 956
(c) Net Income of the company 234
Question 2
K. Ltd. Manufactures and sells a range of sport goods. Management is considering a proposal
for an advertising campaign, which would cost the company `3,00,000. The marketing
department has put forward the following two alternative sales budgets for the following year.
Product (‘000)
A B C D
Budget 1 – Without Advertising 216 336 312 180
Budget – 2 With Advertising 240 372 342 198
Selling prices and variable production costs are budgeted as follow:
Product (` Per unit)
A B C D
Selling prices 11.94 14.34 27.54 23.94
Variable Production Costs:

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CVP Analysis and Decision Making 3.47

Direct Material 5.04 6.60 15.24 12.48


Direct Labour 2.04 2.04 3.36 3.18
Variable overheads 0.72 0.72 1.20 1.08
Other Data:
(1) The variable overheads are absorbed on a machine hour basis at a rate of `1.20 per
machine hour.
(2) Fixed overheads total `30,84,000 per annum.
(3) Production capacity during the budget period 8,15,000 machine hours.
(4) Products A and C could be bought in at `10.68 per unit and `24 per unit respectively.
Required:
(i) Determine whether investment in the advertising campaign would be worthwhile and
how production facilities would be best utilised.
(ii) Explain the assumptions and reasoning behind your advise.
Answer
Statement of production facilities utilisation
Product Machine hours utilised
A 1,44,000
B 2,23,200
C 2,69,600
D 1,78,000
Total 8,15,000
Question 3
You have been approached by a friend who is seeking your advice as to whether he should
give up his job as an engineer, with a current salary of `14,800 per month and go into
business on his own, assembling and selling a component which he has invented. He can
procure the parts required to manufacture the component from a supplier.
It is very difficult to forecast the sales potential of the component, but after some research,
your friend has estimated the sales as follows:
(i) Between 600 to 900 components per month at a selling price of `250 per component.
(ii) Between 901 to 1,250 components per month at a selling price of `220 component for
the entire lot.

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3.48 Advanced Management Accounting

The cost of the parts required would be `140 for each completed component. However if more
than 1,000 components are produced in each month, a discount of 5% would be received from
the supplier of parts on all purchases.
Assembly costs would be `60,000 per month upto 750 components. Beyond this level of
activity assembly costs would increase to `70,000 per month.
Your friend has already spent `30,000 on development, which he would write-off over the first
five years of the venture.
Required:
(i) Calculate for each of the possible sales levels at which your friend could expect to
benefit by going into the venture on his own.
(ii) Calculate the break-even point of the venture for each of the selling price.
(iii) Advise your friend as to the viability of the venture.
Answer
It is not worthwhile to sell between 900 and 1,000 units when no discount is available. Also, it
is worthwhile selling at `220 if sales units are in excess of 1,000 units and a discount of 5% is
available on the purchase of all components – parts.
Profit on the sale of 1,250 units = 1,250 units × `87 – `84,800 = `23,950
Question 4
SWEET DREAMS LTD. Manufactures and markets three products A, Band C in the State of
Haryana and Rajasthan. At the end of first half of 1996-97 the following absorption based
profit statement has been drawn by the accountant:
(` in ‘000)
Haryana Rajasthan Total
Sales 3,000 900 3,900
Manufacturing Costs of Sales 2,331 699 3,030
Gross Profit 699 201 870
Administration Expenses (A) 120 36 156
Selling Expenses (B) 184 169 353
Total Expenses 304 205 509
Net Profit 365 (-) 4 361
(A) The expenses are constant and common to both the States. They stand allocated on
the basis of Sales.
(B) The expenses are semi-fixed but specifically relate to the respective State.

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CVP Analysis and Decision Making 3.49

The management is worried to note that the decision taken to market the products in
Rajasthan to utilise idle capacity has proved wrong and wish to cover only Haryana
State. The incharge marketing division is not satisfied with the above way of profit
presentation. He is of the firm opinion that sales effected in the State of Rajasthan is
contributing profits. For the next half year he expects no increase in demand in
Haryana while for Rajasthan he anticipates to sell B or C more by 50% of existing
sales. This will utilise the idle capacity in full.
The product-wise relevant details for the first half of 1996-97 are:
A B C
Sales (in `’000):
Haryana 1,200 900 900
Rajasthan 300 300 300
Variable Costs (as a % on sales) :
Manufacturing 40 35 30
Selling 3 2 2
Specific fixed manufacturing expenses
(in `’000) 570 470 610
You are required to:
(a) Prepare s State-wise profit statement for the first half of 1996-97 using
contribution approach. Also offer your views on the contention of the
management and opinion expressed by incharge marketing division.
(b) Prepare a product wise profit statement for the same period using contribution
approach.
(c) Submit your well thought out recommendation as to which product should be
produced to utilise idle capacity.
Answer
A B C Total
P/V ratio (Contribution/Sales) × 100 57% 63% 68% 62.23%
Recommendation for utilising idle capacity:
A review of the above P/V ratio’s shows that the increase of output of product C in Rajasthan
is the best. The increase of production after utilising the idle capacity in Rajasthan to the
extent of `1,50,000 (i.e. 50% of `3,00,000) would increase the contribution of the company in
the state of Rajasthan by `1,02,000 (68% × `1,50,000).

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3.50 Advanced Management Accounting

Question 5
The relevant data of X Ltd. For its three products A, B and C are as under:
A B C
Direct Material (`/Unit) 260 300 250
Direct Labour (`/Unit) 130 270 260
Variable Overheads (`/Unit) 110 230 180
Selling Price (`/Unit) 860 1040 930
Machine Hours Required (per Unit) 12 6 3
The estimated fixed overheads at four different levels of 3,600; 6,000; 8,400 and 10,800
machine hours are `1,00,000; `1,50,000; `2,20,000 and `3,00,000 respectively. The
maximum demand of A, B and C in a cost period are 500; 300 and 1,800 units respectively.
You are required to find out (i) the most profitable product-mix at each level and (ii) the level of
activity where the profit would be maximum.
Answer
Product A B C
Maximum demand in units 500 300 1,800

Recommendation:
At 8,400 machine hour level of capacity the company would earn maximum profit i.e.
`3,20,000.
* Refer to working note.
Question 6
Navbharat Commerce College, Bombay has six sections of B.Com, and two section of M.Com
with 40 and 30 students per section respectively. The college plans one-day pleasure trip
around the city for the students once in an academic session during winter break to visit park
Zoo, planetarium and aquarium.
A transporter used to provide the required number of buses at a flat rate of `700 per bus for
the aforesaid purpose. In addition, a special permit fee of `50 per bus is required to the
deposited with city Municipal Corporation. Each bus is 52 seater. Two seats are reserved for
teachers who accompany in each bus. Each teacher is paid daily allowance of `100 for the
day. No other costs in respect of teachers are relevant to the trip.
The approved caterers of the college supply breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea respectively at
`7; `30 and `3 per student.

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CVP Analysis and Decision Making 3.51

No entrance fee is charged at the park. Entrance fees come to `5 per the zoo and the
aquarium. As regards planetarium the authorities charge block entrance fee as under for
group of students of educational institutions depending upon the number of students in a
group:
No. of students in a Group Block Entrance Fee
Upto 100 200
101-200 300
201 & above 450

Cost of prizes to be awarded to the winner in different games being arranged in the park
depend upon the strength of students in a trip. Cost of prizes to be distributed are:
No. of students in a Trip Cost of Prizes
`
Upto 50 900
51-125 1,050
126-150 1,200
151-200 1,300
201-250 1,400
251 & above 1,500
To meet the above costs the college collects `65 from each student who wish to join the trip.
The college release subsidy of `10 per student in the trip towards it.
You are required to:
(a) Prepare a tabulated statement showing total costs at eth levels of 60, 120, 180, 240
and 300 students indicating each item of cost.
(b) Compute average cost per student at each of the above levels.
(c) Calculate the number of students to break even for the trip as the college suffered loss
during the previous year despite 72% of the students having joined the trip.
Answer
(a)
No. of students 60 120 180 240 300
Total costs 5,850 9,600 13,500 17,400 21,150

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3.52 Advanced Management Accounting

(b)

No. of students: 60 120 180 240 300


Average cost (`) 97.50 80 75 72.50 70.50
(c)
No. of students in 51-100 101-125 126-150 151-200 201-250 251-300
the trip
No. of students to 105 140 145 180 220 255
break even:

Question 7
A Company produces three products from an imported material. The Cost Structure per unit of
the products are as under:
Product
A B C
` ` `
Sales Value 200 300 250
Direct Material 50 80 60
Direct Wages `6 per hour 60 120 108
Variable Overheads 30 60 54
Out of Direct Material 80% is of the imported material @ `10 per kg.
Prepare a statement showing comparative Profitability of the three products under the
following scenarios.
(i) Imported Material is in restricted supply.
(ii) Production Capacity is limiting factor.
(iii) When maximum sales potential of products A and B are 1,000 units each and that of
product ‘C’ is 500 units for specific requirement, availability of imported material is
restricted 10,000 kgs per month, how the profit could be maximised?
Answer
Products A B C
Contribution per kg (`) 15 6.25 5.83
4,000 3,600 2,400
No. of units 1,000 562 500

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CVP Analysis and Decision Making 3.53

Question 8
Elegant Hotel has a capacity of 100 single rooms and 20 double rooms. It has a sports centre
with a swimming pool, which is also used by persons other than residents of the hotel. The
hotel has a shopping arcade at the basement and a specialty restaurant at the roof top.
The following information is available:
(i) Average occupancy: 75% for 365 days of the year.
(ii) Current costs are:
Variable cost Fixed cost
`/per day `/per day
Single Room 400 200
Double Room 500 250
(iii) Average sales per day of restaurant `1,00,000; contribution is at 30%. Fixed cost
`10,00,000.
(iv) The sports centre/swimming pool is likely to be used by 50 non-residents daily; average
contribution per day per non-resident is estimated at `50; fixed cost is `5,00,000 per
annum.
(v) Average contribution per month from the shopping arcade is `50,000; fixed cost is
`6,00,000 per annum.
You are required to find out:
(a) Rent chargeable for singe and double room per day, so that there is a margin of safety
of 20% on hire of rooms and that the rent for a double room should be kept at 120% of
a single room.
(b) Evaluate the profitability of restaurant, sports centre and shopping arcade separately.
Answer
Rent per day of single room (in `) 756 (approx.)
Rent per day of double room (in `) 907 (approx.)
(b) Profitability of restaurant: ` 99,50,000
Profitability of sports centre:
`
Contribution of sports centre per day: 4,12,500
Profitability of shopping arcade: Nil

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3.54 Advanced Management Accounting

Question 9
ACE Office Supplies Corporation retails two products – a standard and a deluxe version of a
designer ball point pen. The budgeted income statement is as under :
Standard Deluxe Total
Sales (in units) 1,50,000 50,000 2,00,000
` ` `
Sales:
@ `20 per unit 30,00,000 - -
At `30 per unit - 15,00,000 45,00,000
Variable Costs:
At `14 per unit 21,00,000 - -
At `18 per unit - 9,00,000 30,00,000
Contribution 9,00,000 6,00,000 15,00,000
Fixed Costs 12,00,000
Profit 3,00,000
Required:
(i) Calculate the breakeven point in units assuming that the planned sales mix is
maintained.
(ii) Calculate the breakeven point in units:
(a) if only standard version is sold, and
(b) if only deluxe version is sold.
(iii) Suppose 2,00,000 units are sold, but only 20,000 units are of deluxe quality. Calculate
the profit. Calculate the breakeven points if these relationships persist in the next
accounting period. Compare your answer with the original plan and the answer in
requirement (b). what is your major finding?
Answer
(a) Break even point in units (if only Standard version is sold)
= 2,00,000 units
(b) Break even point in units (if only Deluxe version is sold)
= 1,00,000 units

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CVP Analysis and Decision Making 3.55

Major findings on comparing budgeted sales plan and original sales plan
Sales mix ratio of Standard and Unites to be sold at Total units Profit on the sale
Deluxe breakdown sold of 2,00,000 unit
Standard Deluxe
3:1 1,20,000 40,000 1,60,000 3,00,000

Question 10
The details of the output presently available from a manufacturing department of Hitech
Industries Ltd. Are as follows:
Average output per week 48,000 units from 160 employees
Saleable value of output `6,00,000
Contribution made by the output towards fixed
Expenses and profit `2,40,000
The Board of Directors plans to introduce more automation in the department at a capital cost
of `1,60,000. The effect of this will be to reduce the number of employees to 120, but to
increase the output per individual employee by 60%. To provide the necessary incentive to
achieve the increased output the Board intends to offer a 1% increase in the piecework rate of
one rupee per article for every 2% increase in average individual output achieved. To sell the
increased output, it will be necessary to decrease the selling price by 4%.
Required:
Calculate the extra weekly contribution resulting from the proposed change and evaluate, for
the Board’s information, the worth of the project.
Answer
(a) Proposed piece work rate = `130 per unit
(b) Proposed sale price per unit = `12
(c) Present marginal cost (excluding wages) per unit. = `6.50 p.u.
Question 11
Satish Enterprises are leading exporters of Kid’s Toys. J Ltd. of U.S.A. have approached
Satish Enterprises for Exporting a special toy named “Jumping Monkey”. The order will be
valid for next three years at 3,000 toys per month. The export price of the toy will be 84.

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3.56 Advanced Management Accounting

Cost data per toy is as follows:


`
Materials 60
Labour 25
Variable overheads 20
Primary packing of the toy 15
The toys will be packed in lots of 50 each. For this purpose a special box, which will contain
the 50 toys will have to be purchased, cost being `400 per box.
Satish Enterprises will also have to import a special machine for making the toys. The cost of
the machine is `24,00,000 and duty thereon will be at 12%. The machine will have an
effective life of 3 years and depreciation is to be charged on straight-line method. Apart from
depreciation, annual fixed overheads is estimated at `4,00,000 for the first year with 6%
increase in the second year. Fixed overheads are incurred uniformly over the year.
Assuming the average conversion rate to be `50 per $, you are required to:
(i) Prepare a monthly and yearly profitability statements for the first year and second year
assuming the production at 3,000 today per month.
(ii) Compute a monthly and yearly break even units in respect of the first year.
(iii) In what contingency can there be a second break-even point for the month and for the
year as a whole?
(iv) Have you any comments to offer on the above?
Answer
(b) (i) Profit Statement of M/s Satish Enterprises for first and second year on monthly
and yearly basis.
First year Second Year
Monthly ` Yearly ` Monthly ` Yearly `
Profit 108 1,296 106 1,272
Question 12
“Cost is not the only criterion for deciding in favour of shut down” – Briefly explain.
Answer
Refer to Chapter 3: Paragraph 3.5

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CVP Analysis and Decision Making 3.57

Question 13
M Company’s Central Services Department is evaluating new coping machines to replace the
firm’s current copier, which is worn out. The analysis of alternative machines has been
narrowed to three and the estimated costs of operating them are shown below:
Cost per 100 copies
Machine A Machine B Machine C
` ` `
Materials Cost 60 40 20
Labour Cost 80 30 20
Annual Lease Cost 30,000 58,000 1,00,000
Required:
(i) Compute the cost indifference points for the three alternatives.
(ii) What do the cost indifference points suggest as a course of action in this regard?
(iii) If the management expects to need 87,000 copies next year which copier would be
most economical?
Answer
Cost indifference point for two machines viz.,
(a) A&B = 400 Nos. (Multiple of 100 copies)
(b) B&C =1,400 Nos. (Multiple of 100 copies)
(c) C&A = 700 Nos. (Multiple of 100 copies)
(d) Hence from the above we conclude as follows:
From 0 to 400 Nos. (Multiple of 100 copies) use Machine A
From 400 to 1,400 Nos. (Multiple of 100 copies) use Machine B
Above 1,400 Nos. (Multiple of 100 copies) use Machine C.
(e) machine B would be most economical.
Question 14
Somesh of Agra presently operates its plant at 80% of the normal capacity to manufacture a
product only to meet the demand of Government of Tamil Nadu under a rate contract.
He supplies the product for `4,00,000 and earns a profit margin of 20% on sales realisations
Direct cost per unit is constant.

© The Institute of Chartered Accountants of India


3.58 Advanced Management Accounting

The indirect costs as per his budget projections are:


Indirect costs 20,000 units (80% 22,500 units (90% 25,000 units (100%
capacity) ` capacity) ` capacity) `
Variable 80,000 90,000 1,00,000
Semi-variable 40,000 42,500 45,000
Fixed 80,000 80,000 80,000
He has received an export order for the product equal to 20% of its present operations.
Additional packing charges on this order will be `1,000.
Arrive at the price to be quoted for the export order to give him a profit margin of 10% on the
export price.
Answer
Price to be quoted ` 50,000
Export price per unit ` 12.50
Question 15
ACE Ltd. has an inventory of 5,000 units of a product left over from last years’ production.
This model is no longer in demand. It is possible to sell these at reduced prices through the
normal distribution channels. The other alternative is to ask someone to take them on “as is
where is” basis. The latter alternative will cost the company `5,000.
The company produced 2,40,000 units of the product, last year, when the unit costs were as
under:
Manufacturing Costs:
Variable 6.00
Fixed 1.00 7.00
Selling & Distribution Cost:
Variable 3.00
Fixed 1.50 4.50
Total Cost 11.50
Selling Price per Unit 14.00
Required:
Should the company scrap the items or sell them at a reduced price? If you suggest the latter,
what minimum price would you recommend?
Answer
If the company can get anything more than ` 2/- per unit, then it is worthwhile to sell the stock
of 5,000 units

© The Institute of Chartered Accountants of India

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