Compiled by MadLad Designs 2019 19/09/2019
IRON HELM FAQ V1.1
Q: How do you learn skills?
*It takes 3 defeated enemy cards to gain a new skill that is in the same family as the base
skill of your character (brawn, mind, or agility). For those outside of that base skill, it takes 5
defeated enemies. You can choose your skill.
Q: Can Mimics be used for experience in acquiring another skill?
*Yes
Q: If you avoid the mimic will it get reshuffled back into the deck?
*Yes. If you kill it in a fight, you keep it as trophy until the end.
Q: Do you discard items you don’t buy or do you shuffle them back into the deck?
*They are discarded.
Q: Does the alchemy skill also apply when drawing for Merchant potions or just enemy rewards?
*It only applies when drawing loot after taking out a foe. The reason is because the
Merchant Dungeon card gives you specific rules for building the shop on the card.
Q: When I get a new skill (turning over 3 or 5 beaten enemy cards), can I keep the previous skill? Can I
have (and use) more than 1 skill at a time?
*You may have and use more than one skill.
Q: The plot card 'The Shrine' mentions: 'Gain blessing tokens equal to your position on the morality
track.' But what if your morality track is negative? Do you still gain tokens?
*Do nothing if negative. No gain or loss.
Q: Can I use health potions during a fight or only before and after?
*You can *almost* always use health potions. The exception is if you meet a condition for
death; if your poison ever equals your health, or if you run out of health, you die
immediately with no saving grace. Other than that, you are free to use restorative potions
whenever you wish, whether during a battle, between dungeon cards, or any other time.
Q: Can I drink a potion/eat a ration during combat to gain health, gain energy, or clear poison? If so,
does this come at the cost of a 'turn' (i.e. do I use the consumable instead of making an attack?)
*You may drink potions whenever you want. During combat. During a plot card. Or simply
between drawing a dungeon card. Rations however thematically would take too long to eat
for their effect during a conflict or plot. You may eat rations in between turns, meaning in
between drawing dungeon cards.
1
Compiled by MadLad Designs 2019 19/09/2019
Q: When I use a potion in an attack do I have to spend also an energy token as if I was using a
weapon?
*No, you do not spend an energy. You can choose to spend energy for a physical attack, OR
spend 0 energy and punch for 1 damage, OR spend 0 energy and discard an attack potion to
deal 2 d6 damage (plus weakness when applicable).
Q: What happens with weapons if I drop them because they exceed my encumbrance? Are they out
of the game or back into the trappings deck (giving me the chance to buy them again)?
*You can only buy trappings cards at the start of the game. Once you take your first turn into
the dungeon, that whole deck is off-limits. The Loot deck is where your draw from when you
defeat a monster with a loot value of 1 or 2; or when you encounter the merchant. Dropped
items go into the discard pile, effectively removing them from play unless the Loot deck runs
out and you have to shuffle the discard pile (rare!).
Q: Can you attack your opponent with a free 1-hit, even if you have a weapon?
*Yes.
Q: Do you take poison if you don’t take damage?
*No, you have to take damage in order to contract the poison.
Q: If I initial decide to buy items with my starting gold do I buy them from the trappings deck or from
the Items deck?
*Any items you buy at the start of the game with your gold will be from the trappings deck
ONLY.
Q: Combat rules it state that may be useful to have a second weapon just in case you lose the first
one, but in the appendix it states that you only have one primary hand item. So can I have a second
weapon and not use it as long as I do not exceed the total weight for my character?
*You may carry any number of non-equipped items as long as you do not exceed
encumbrance.
Q: Does the boss count as an enemy defeated for end game points?
*Yes, the boss counts as an enemy.
Q: What happens at the Hidd Inn if I have no gold?
*If you have no gold to spend you can do nothing at the Hidd Inn.
Q: When are the weapons/shields in your hands 'locked in' on an encounter? Can you change them
after looking at/choosing a dungeon card that instigates combat but before the enemy is revealed?
How about after the enemy is revealed but before the combat sequence begins?
*As soon as you know you are entering a conflict they are locked. So as soon as a dungeon
card is revealed that forces combat, you may not change your equipment.
2
Compiled by MadLad Designs 2019 19/09/2019
Q: What is the timing of the skill 'Parry'?
*Parry must be used before you roll for your foe.
Q: If your primary weapon is destroyed in battle, can you equip another if you have one?
*If you ever lose your primary weapon for any reason, you may automatically equip a new
weapon either from your offhand or from your inventory.
Q: If you are using a Torch or a Lamp, may you activate these after looking at the first dungeon card
to then reveal the second dungeon card and choose from among the two, or must you activate these
before looking at any dungeon cards?
*You can use the torch/lamp in both ways. Either before revealing either, or after seeing the
first.
Q: Is there a difference in the mechanics that modify the attack die rolls for the Long Sword and the
Cinderblade? I notice that on other cards as well, some cards refer to die results and others refer to
attack results. Does the former refer to individual dice and the latter refer to die totals? How much
damage would each of these weapons do on a 2 energy attack roll of 4-2? How much damage would
each of these weapons do on a 2 energy attack roll of 6-3? (Assume for this question that the enemy
is not weak to fire).
*Once you decide on the number energy to spend and roll the appropriate number of dice
you add the bonus ONE TIME to the sum of the roll, whether you rolled 1 die or three dice.
Q: When drawing the mimic monsters from the loot deck, do they count as skirmishes or ambushes in
terms of initiative?
*You simply battle the mimic (scorpion as well) without adjusting their health. You will
notice their health is already fairly high.
Q: If you only have 1 poison token at the end of the Dungeon Level it would go up to 2... correct?
*Just a single poison token will not generate more poison at the end of a level. 1 will
generate 0, 2 will generate 1, 3 will generate 1, 4 will generate 2, 5 will generate 2, 6 will
generate 3, 7 will generate 3, and so on...
Q: “If cyclops deals 9 or more damage, primary weapon breaks”, If I have armor, can the effect be
stopped?
*If your armor or another effect deflect some of the incoming damage and the Cyclops hits
for less than 9, your weapon remains intact.
Q: Can a character gain more health/energy than their starting amounts (printed on the character
card)?
*You may not exceed your initial health or energy, but you may exceed your initial poison
level.
3
Compiled by MadLad Designs 2019 19/09/2019
Q: If my character learns the Alchemy skill through enemy experience, which Potions are available to
select from when the skill is learned: is it just those remaining in the Potions Deck, or is the Potions
Discard Pile fair game to choose from as well?
*You may look through the Potion Deck and pick the potions you want. Shuffle the
remaining potion cards and reform the draw pile.
Q: Since rations are not used during any boss battles (so far, at least) and do not score any end game
points, is it allowed to immediately scarf down all my remaining rations for 1 energy each after
resolving the plot card that triggers the end game but before starting the boss encounter?
*No, you should try to eat those rations up when it seems like the boss may be on to you.
Q: For enemies that give you poison during combat (such as the Flying Snake or Naga), I presume
that rolling a 'miss' (doubles on the 2d6) does not give you poison, but do you still receive the poison
if the roll is not a 'miss' but the hit damage is completely mitigated by armor and/or a shield?
*If you manage to block all the incoming damage, you also take no poison damage. You have
to actually take physical damage to be poisoned.
Q: When you level up, do you discard your old skill or just add the new one to your existing one?
* You add to any existing ones you have.
Q: Why are there cards in the Trappings Deck that cost 4 gold?
* They are meant to be purchased after a successful delve into the dungeon. Also, in
Adventure Pack 2, Blackened Burrow, you will receive another character Qara, and she starts
with 4 gold as will a couple of other future characters.
Q: What do I do if I run out of energy during a level? For example, I was spending quite a bit of
energy during a few rounds of combat and depleted my energy. Rations were used up elsewhere. A
new combat situation surfaces, so am I stuck punching for 1 hp?
* Unfortunately yes. Monitoring your energy is likely the hardest aspect of the game making
skills like Herbalism and Berserk really useful. In addition to these, I may have a couple of
new trapping cards coming in the next Adventure Pack that will give you a bit more control
over your energy levels.
Q: One Plot card asked me to escort an old lady to the surface. It cost me a health and a ration to do
so, but I was out of rations. Could I spend three more health (like the "starvation" rule at the end of a
level) instead? Or am I stuck with the other choice, which lowered my morality by abandoning her in
the dungeon's depths?
* If you cannot fulfil the requirements of one of the options while resolving a plot card, you
are forced to choose the other option. There’s always a way to resolve a plot card, even if it
makes you feel a little sick in the stomach...
4
Compiled by MadLad Designs 2019 19/09/2019
Q: For the final boss of a game the card has a treasure number...does that mean you get to draw said
treasure/potion cards before you tally up your final score?
* Because your final score tally is at the end of the game, yes: you would resolve the gained
loot first. Page 14, item 4, groups the loot check with the rest of combat, so you're not
"done" with the boss until after you resolve loot.
Q: When you have an option to use a skill (such as Conceal) or an item (such as Door Wedge or
Robes) to potentially avoid a Skirmish or Ambush, do you reveal the enemy from the top of the deck
for the battle before deciding whether or not to use the skill or item to help avoid the combat?
* You do not get to sneak a look at your foe before deciding to avoid them, unless you have
an item/skill that specifically allows you to do so.
Q: When you avoid combat through a skill or item as above, do you reveal the enemy from the top of
the deck (if not already revealed before the decision) and then consider it to be defeated for the
purposes of...
- Gaining gold and/or loot?
- Retaining defeated enemies for the purpose of learning new abilities?
- Deciding on the identity of the Boss at the end of the game?
* If you avoid a conflict, you do not reveal an enemy and therefore you do not gain anything
other than surviving to see the next room in the dungeon.
Q: When you avoid combat through bribery (such as an Orc Warrior or Mimic), is the enemy
considered to be defeated for the purposes of...
- Gaining gold and/or loot?
- Retaining defeated enemies for the purpose of learning new abilities?
- Deciding on the identity of the Boss at the end of the game?
* No. Any time you avoid a conflict for any reason you do not gain any of the rewards you
would have had you fought the enemy. Avoiding the conflict is the reward.
Q: When you are 'ignored' by Wolves as the result of a Plot card choice, do you treat every future
combat with a wolf enemy as if you avoided combat with that wolf (using the same answers to the
questions above as if you had bribed the wolf) or is there some different mechanics in this situation?
* In future conflicts, after making the moral decision in regards to the wolf plot, if a wolf is
drawn it will ignore you and you do have to fight it. In this case treat it as mentioned above.
Q: When you are currently carrying items with a total weight equal to your character's weight limit
and you acquire a new item with a non-zero weight that is consumable (such as a Health Potion or
Ration), can you immediately use that item for its effect without having to discard any of the items
you are currently carrying, or must you drop (and discard) one of your currently held items to give
inventory space to hold the consumable before it is used?
* In this case you may use up consumables before trekking on. Just make sure you are not
carrying too over your limit when you continue forth.
5
Compiled by MadLad Designs 2019 19/09/2019
Q: When a card states “Gain 1 random treasure card.” Where is the Treasure deck?
* The Treasure deck is actually the Loot deck. So it should say: “Gain 1 random Loot card”
Q: If I draw a Mimic when resolving the Merchant do I have to combat the Mimic?
* Yes, you have to fight a Mimic whenever it is drawn.
Q: Do we draw one card at a time when dealing with the Merchant and then buy, discard, or combat
if a Mimic is drawn before drawing another?
* It’s suggested you draw all the required cards indicated by the Merchant card. Purchase
those your want, if any, and then discard. If a Mimic is drawn with the others, deal with the
Mimic first, and then make your purchases.
Q: You can buy armour/weapons at the start of the game but are there other uses for the gold coins
during the game?
* Gold can be used after the base game, and between level 2 and 3 Adventure Packs to get
fresh digs for your next delve! Also part of score tracking.
Q: When enemies counter strike, do they add their base damage value to the 2D6 dice roll equation?
* Yes, you add the enemy's base damage to the roll to determine total damage for a
counter-strike.
Q: If I have a weapon equipped in primary and off-hand slot, can I use an offensive option like Spark
Bomb from accessory instead of a weapon? Or does the spark bomb have to be in my off-hand slot?
* A spark bomb is an accessory so it can be used without equipping to attack an enemy
instead of using your hand weapon.
Q: Do you die at 0 energy?
* No. You can run out of energy, but you will be in trouble if you get into combat again as
you will not be able to use your weapons.
Q: Does fire scorpion plot card count as an enemy for levelling up purposes?
* Yes, both the Mimic in the loot deck and the scorpion plot card can be used to advance.
Q: How often must or can a die be rerolled? If I have a short bow and must reroll any 6 I roll is it only
the first time, or do I have to reroll until I get anything other than a 6? Or for the skill archery, can I
use the reroll as often I get a one, or only once?
*You have to reroll until you haven't got any sixes anymore (short bow) and keep rerolling
until you don't have ones anymore (skill archery).
Q: When the Mimic appears, does it get initial attack first? I guess so, since the rules mention all
enemies get initial attack unless otherwise noted.
*Yes. Monsters always attack first unless written otherwise on a card.
6
Compiled by MadLad Designs 2019 19/09/2019
Q: Do you have to spend energy to apply the parry skill? ('Gamble' to avoid initial attack)
*Nope. Parry is free to use at the beginning of a conflict. The risk is that you may break your
primary weapon on a roll of one.
Q: Do you have to discard explorer's map after use? (losing 1 ration less when lost in labyrinth). It's
not mentioned on the card, so I guess we can keep the card.
*You get to keep the Explorer's Map. Cards that are one use only should indicate such.
Q: Can I spend more than 1 ration to get favours at the campsite?
*Like the Alter Card, you may only perform one of the actions at the campsite and you may
only perform that action one time.
Q: What do we do if we have a 3-way tie when determining a foe? I have 2 of each icon in my
graveyard.
*In a three way tie the best and simplest solution would be to draw a boss at random as
there would be an equal chance for any one of them to appear at this point.
Q: When you are through with a level and you go to the next level, do you automatically gain a new
skill?
*No, the only way of advancement is described in the appendix; 3 beaten enemies for a skill
within your proficiency or 5 beaten enemies for a skill outside your proficiency.
Q: The card for the potion "Holy Water" states "You may discard this card to deal 2d6 damage. +5
damage to the undead." Can this only be used on undead monsters or does it mean that you get 2d6
damage to regular monsters and can add an additional 5 damage to the undead?
*The latter. There are three types of attack potions in the base game: The ice shard, the
spark bomb, and the holy water. Each deals 2d6 damage to whatever enemy you throw it at,
regardless of enemy type. Then, if the attack potion matches the enemy's weakness, you
deal an extra 5 damage.