Intro To Digital Marketing - Michael

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August 2021

Introduction to Digital Marketing

Michael Buchholz
Managing Director
Caldwell Richards
Meet Your Instructor
Michael Buchholz
Managing Director, Caldwell Richards

●  Owner/Founder of Caldwell Richards


●  Startup Mentor at Accelerating Asia & Found8
●  Teach the full-time Digital Marketing Immersive
class at General Assembly
●  Various CMO roles
●  20+ years in the tech industry
●  Favourite soccer team – Bayern München
https://www.linkedin.com/in/michael-buchholz-4082502/
https://www.linkedin.com/company/caldwell-richards/
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Agenda

What is Digital Marketing?

The Components of a Digital Marketing Campaign

Review Digital Marketing Career Opportunities

How to Start a Campaign by Setting Goals

Identifying KPIs and What To Measure

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Ask Questions!
That’s what
we’re here for!

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What is
Digital Marketing?
Once upon a time, before the Internet…

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Traditional Marketing

Characteristics of Traditional Marketing (TV,


Radio, Print, Mail, etc):
•  Disruptive
•  One way
•  Spin based
•  Sales focused
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The Shift

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New Rules of Marketing
•  Marketing today is much more than just advertising

•  Consumers expect to be involved in the


communication process

•  Instead of interruption, marketing is now about


delivering content at the exact moment your
audience requires it

•  Content needs to be personalized, not mass-


market

Companies need to own on-line


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Digital Marketing Case Study

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Papa John’s (Atlanta) business problem

•  There once was a time when “food delivery” was specific to just
Chinese or pizza. That time has long passed.

•  These days, consumers can order any food for delivery. And with
services like Uber entering the fray, the competition is fierce. Even
well-established brands, like Papa John’s, are struggling to stay
top of mind when customers are considering their meal-time
options.

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Papa John’s marketing response
•  In 2017, the marketing goal was to keep Papa John’s in the
consideration pool while driving transactions and revenue at the
most efficient ROAS (return on ad spend) possible.

•  Their marketing mix included:


•  Social media marketing (Facebook and Instagram)

•  Programmatic Display

•  Native video advertising

•  YouTube advertising

•  Mobile marketing
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Papa John’s results

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Everything is going digital!

POP-UP RETAIL
TV RADIO PRINT FLYERS BILLBORAD WOM
STORES STORES

ONLINE MUSIC NEWS ONLINE BANNER SOCIAL LANDING ONLINE


VIDEO APPS WEBSITES ADS ADS MEDIA PAGES STORES

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Everything is “on demand”

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This has created sooo many marketing options

SEARCH ENGINE MARKETING SOCIAL MEDIA MARKETING AFFILIATE MARKETING

THE BIG 3
GOOGLE FACEBOOK BOOKING.COM

BING INSTAGRAM DELIVEROO

BAIDU LINKEDIN FOODPANDA


EVOLVING YOUTUBE TWITTER LAZADA
TRENDS AMAZON SNAPCHAT TIME OUT SINGAPORE
etc. etc. etc.
CLUBHOUSE

ONE-ON-ONE MARKETING DISPLAY & VIDEO CONTENT MARKETING


ADVERTISING
INSTANT EMAIL
BLOGS
MESSAGING BANNER ADS
WHATSAPP
IS THE NEW VLOGS
WECHAT VIDEO ADS
SOCIAL
INFOGRAPHICS
MEDIA etc. RICH MEDIA ADS
etc.
etc.

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And with the marketing world becoming digital…

The good news is everything is


now measureable…
The bad news is everything is
now measureable.
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We measure to know what’s
working & what isn’t.

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But don’t get lost in the data –
only measure what is
important to
your business
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The Holy Grail of Marketing - Repeat Customers…

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… and measurement - Customer Lifetime Value (CLV)

Starbucks estimates
that the average
lifetime value of
their customer is…
US$14,099
Kissmetrics

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What is marketing?

Marketing is about reaching & connecting


with the right people at the best time with a
compelling message and a great
experience…
1.  so people know you exist
2.  will choose what you’re selling
3.  will stay loyal to you in the future
4.  will recommend you to others.
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Marketing is evolving

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What is Digital Marketing?

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Discussion:
5 minutes
Buzzword Breakdown

Word association:
What do you think of when you hear the
term “digital marketing”?

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And the winner is…

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It’s Art and Science

Segmentation Customer Empathy

Optimisation Value Props

Testing
Compelling Content

And knowing what success looks like to you


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But, the power is with consumers more than ever before

The moment consumers became aware of a life without


ads was the moment traditional marketing began its quiet
death.

It’s how we ended up here today with


615 million devices that use adblock and
59% of millennials skipping ads on YouTube.

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The Industry is also shifting to meet consumer expectations

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Trivia! QUIZ

What is the average human attention span?

Answer in Zoom Chat

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Assembly
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So you need to stand out with a better story

●  Life is moving FAST!


●  We’re scanning, scrolling, swiping,
clicking, liking and moving on.
●  With so many channels, so much
noise and information we’re
turning off and tuning out.

●  People are easier to reach but


harder to engage than ever.

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Trends in 2021

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Times they are a changin’

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Who is this guy?

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The price of standing still

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How to get started in Digital Marketing?

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We must also adapt and change

Because of this fast-paced change and growth,


digital marketers must wear many hats as part…
‣  Digital Marketer
‣  User Experience Designer
‣  Product Manager
‣  Data Analyst
‣  The list goes on…

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The good news is - Digital is in demand

●  Demand for digital marketing and mobile skills has


more than doubled in the past 5 years.

●  In fact, the top five skills in digital marketing have


grown at an astounding average of 500%. Traditional
marketing roles, on the other hand, have grown only
16% over this time.

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Career Paths in Digital Marketing!

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What skills are in demand?

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Why Choose a Career in Digital Marketing?

•  It gives you the skills to start your own business


•  Digital (Marketing) is the future
•  Be in high demand
•  Low barriers to entry
•  You can make good money
•  Work on interesting projects
•  Work with fun people
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Q & A
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How to start a
Digital Marketing
campaign?
You want to run a
marketing campaign.

So, where do we start?

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Where to start

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Before you can develop an
effective marketing strategy
you must first REALLY REALLY
understand your business and
your customer

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Where to start

1.  Know your business


2.  Know your audience/market
3.  Know your message (and make sure it helps
them)

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1. Know your business

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2. Know your audience/market

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3. Know your message

●  You need to know who your customers are


●  You need to know your customers pain
●  You need to know what they want to hear from you
●  You need to know how to get your message across
quickly

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3. Know your message

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Tools to help
One liner / value proposition
http://buildingastorybrand.com/minisode-1/

Business Model Canvas


http://www.slideshare.net/esaife/business-model-canvas-101

Personas
https://blog.hubspot.com/marketing/buyer-persona-research

Empathy Maps
https://www.nngroup.com/articles/empathy-mapping/
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When starting a campaign, you will face endless decisions

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The Objective-First Campaign Framework is here to help

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Congratulations!

You’ve landed an internship at a premier marketing firm, GAgency.

You will be assisting on an important campaign for an artisan coffee and


pastry chain that’s popular in Singapore: Plungin’ Pastries.

It needs GAgency’s help to increase sales from 12 p.m. to close (4 p.m.).

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1. What Do We Want to Accomplish?

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Marketing Objectives Are Typically Rooted in the Funnel

●  “I want to make people aware and


excited about what we have to offer!”

●  “I want to grow my bottom line by


gaining new customers.”

●  “I want to engage my customers and


get them to buy more!”

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The Customer Journey
Connected TV Email Websites
Social Media
Online

Paid Content Social Media Chatbot


Email
Digital Programmatic MarketPlace Loyalty
Audio Program
Addressable
Search TV
Online Ads Website Survey

AWARENESS CONSIDERATION CONVERSION LOYALTY

Mailings
Offline

Direct Mail
Radio P On Demand
R Call Centre
Ship-to-home
Store
Delivery
Word-of-Mouth
Call Centre Pick-Up
Outdoor
Self-Fulfilled
TV

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The Best Objectives Are S.M.A.R.T.

SPECIFIC MEASUREABLE ACTIONABLE REALISTIC TIME-BOUND

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A S.M.A.R.T Objective Mad Lib
“Our objective this [time frame] is to drive [specific and tied to
business model] from [X] to [Y].”

●  Raise brand awareness this month by driving 100,000 new


unique visitors to the website.

●  This quarter, get 10,000 free online demo sign-ups by


education companies this quarter.

●  Our objective this year is to acquire 50,000 new online customers


for women’s apparel this financial year.

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Sample Objective

Our objective this quarter is to increase sales made between


the hours of 12 p.m. and 4 p.m. by 10%.

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2. Objectives and KPIs: We Can’t Have One Without the Other
Primary KPI:
Revenue (sales) made between 12 p.m. and 4 p.m.
Secondary KPI:
Number of sales made between 12p.m. and 4pm

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3. Who Is Our Audience and How Will We Reach Them?

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The Options: Plungin’ Pastries Personas

Early Late Extended


Birds Risers Stayers
Patrons that visit the store Students and senior Young professionals or
between 5:30 a.m. and 8 citizens who frequent the students who spend
a.m. store between 8 a.m. and several hours working at
11 a.m. the store.

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The Options: Channels and Tactics

Channels Tactics
Where marketing and distribution happens: The stuff that flows through the pipes:
The pipes that connect you to the Strategies that can take place on one
customer. or more channels.
●  Websites ●  Promotional discounts
●  Email ●  Content marketing
●  TV ●  Influencer marketing
●  Facebook ●  Live videos
●  Apps ●  Retargeting
●  Text messages ●  Chatbots
●  Phone calls
●  Retailers
●  Wholesalers

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Who Is Our Audience and How Will We Reach Them?
We will target the extended stayers on Facebook, advertising discounts on
coffee and pastries between 12 p.m. and 4 p.m.

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4. Execute - Plungin’ Pastries: Facebook Ad
Plungin’ Pastries

●  18- to 25-year-olds
Get 25% off coffee at Plungin’ Pastries from 12 to 4p
●  Students studying nearby
or young entrepreneurs
●  Interested in food, music,
arts and culture,
exhibitions
●  Chope, Time Out,
Fuel up and save this afternoon! Hungry Go Where
Get your coupon code here.

FUELUP.COM

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5. The Results Are In...

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Choosing what you measure is critical

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It’s easy to become overwhelmed by data.
Common metrics by channel

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Measuring success

Almost everything in digital


marketing can be measured BUT
be selective.
1.  Set your objectives and KPI’s
2.  Decide what metrics you can
learn most from.
3.  Measure, test, learn, optimise

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Be warned...data is just numbers without insight

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The Results Are In…

Extended Stayers
Click-through rate: Clicks / Impressions * 100
How many people saw our ad? 600,000
Impressions ●  7,200 / 600000 * 100 = 1.2%

How many people followed our ad? 7,200 Cost per click: Cost / Clicks
Clicks
●  5,000 / 7200 = .70 cents
How much did we pay for our ad? $5,000
Cost Return on investment: Revenue / Cost

●  3,000 / 5000 = 0.6


How much did we drive in sales? $3,000
Revenue

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Discussion:
5 minutes
Discussion
Our objective this quarter is to increase sales made between
the hours of 12 p.m. and 4 p.m. by 10%.

Extended Stayers
Were we successful?
How many people saw our ad? 600,000
Impressions
Yes and
or No
How many people followed our 7,200
ad?
Clicks Answers in Chat
How much did we pay for our $5,000
ad?
Cost
How much did we drive in sales? $3,000
Revenue

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6. What Might We Do to Optimize Our Ad?

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Optimizing Through A/B Testing
Plungin’ Pastries

Get 25% off coffee at Plungin’ Pastries from 12 to 4p


1.  Pick only one aspect (e.g., a
headline, call to action, or image)
to change at a time.

2.  Run two or more versions


concurrently.

3.  Measure which version garners


better results. Fuel up and save this afternoon!
Get your coupon code here.

FUELUP.COM

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Optimizing Through A/B Testing

You’re only limited by your


creativity.

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TOOLS+RESOURCES 88
89
Branding Workshop

Wrap Up

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#1 Establish Objectives & Goals (SMART)

Social Mission Statement


“To use social media to educate current and potential customers about our
product offering, with a focus on our organic range.”

Goal
Brand Awareness + Sales

KPIs
1.  25% increase in Instagram social reach & engagements YOY
2.  Maintain an average 5% conversion rate from all social traffic this Quarter

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#2 Learn Everything About Your Audience/Customers

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#3 Tell a Great Story

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#4 Know What to Measure

Free Tool

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#5 Be Patient!

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General Digital Marketing Education & News
Resources
Social Media Examiner: https://www.socialmediaexaminer.com/
Contently: https://contently.com/content-marketing/content-marketing-2016/
Neil Patel Blog: https://neilpatel.com/blog/
Moz Blog: https://moz.com/blog/
Digital Agency Network: https://digitalagencynetwork.com/

Association
The Digital Marketing Association: https://www.dmaglobal.com/
Marketing Institute of Singapore: https://www.mis.org.sg/
Australian Marketing Institute: https://ami.org.au/

Education
Digital Marketing, General Assembly: https://generalassemb.ly
Google Analytics: https://analytics.google.com/analytics/academy/course/6?hl=en
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LinkedIn – Michael Buchholz

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LinkedIn – Caldwell Richards

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Q & A
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Thank you!

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