

2008 election results for the Mayor of London and the London Assembly

The 2008 Mayor of London election results

If there are only two candidates, the Mayor of London is elected using the First Past the Post system. The candidate with the most votes wins.

If there are three or more candidates running for Mayor, the Supplementary Vote system is used to ensure the candidate with the broadest amount of support from London is elected. In this system, voters can cast a first and second choice vote.

If a candidate receives more than half of all the first choice votes they are elected. If this does not happen, the top two candidates with the most first choice votes go through to a second round. All other candidates are eliminated, but the second choice votes on their ballot papers are looked at. If they are for either of the top two candidates, these second choices are added to their totals. The candidate with the highest total of first and second choice votes wins. If there is a tie then the Greater London Returning Officer draws lots.

Name	Party	1st choice*	% 1st choice	2nd choice*	Final total
Boris Johnson	Conservative Party	1,043,761	43.20	124,977	1,168,738
Ken Livingstone	Labour Party	893,877	37.00	135,089	1,028,966
Brian Paddick	Liberal Democrats	236,685	9.80		
Sian Berry	Green Party	77,374	3.20		
Richard Barnbrook	British National Party	69,710	2.89		
Alan Craig	Christian Peoples Alliance	39,249	1.62		
Gerard Batten	UK Independence Party	22,422	0.93		
Lindsey German	Left List	16,796	0.70		
Matt O'Connor	English Democrats (withdrawn)	10,695	0.44		
Winston McKenzie	Independent	5,389	0.22		

* These numbers reflect the number of valid votes and do not include those ballot papers which were spoilt.

London Elects, City Hall, The Queen's Walk, London SE1 2AA Tel: 020 7983 4444 / info@londonelects.org.uk

2008 Constituency Assembly results

The 14 Constituency Assembly Members are elected using the First Past the Post system, so that the candidate in each constituency with the most votes is elected. If there is a tie, the Constituency Returning Officer draws lots to choose the winner.

Constituency	Candidate	Party
Barnet & Camden	Brian Coleman	Conservative Party
Bexley & Bromley	James Cleverly	Conservative Party
Brent & Harrow	Navin Shah	Labour Party
City & East	John Biggs	Labour Party
Croydon & Sutton	Stephen O'Connell	Conservative Party
Ealing & Hillingdon	Richard Barnes	Conservative Party
Enfield & Haringey	Joanne McCartney	Labour Party
Greenwich & Lewisham	Leonard Duvall	Labour Party
Havering & Redbridge	Roger Evans	Conservative Party
Lambeth & Southwark	Valerie Shawcross	Labour Party
Merton & Wandsworth	Richard Tracey	Conservative Party
North East	Jennette Arnold	Labour Party
South West	Tony Arbour	Conservative Party
West Central	Kit Malthouse	Conservative Party

2008 London-wide Assembly Member votes

To allocate the London-wide Assembly Member seats, the Modified d'Hondt Formula is used, which takes into account all of the votes cast in the London-wide and Constituency Assembly Member contests.

To be included in this calculation, each political party or independent candidate must receive five per cent of the total number of London-wide votes cast, or they are eliminated. The below calculation is then carried out for each party, for each of the 11 seats. The party with the highest result at each round is allocated the seat.

Total number of votes won

Seats already won (including constituency seats) + 1

The parties allocate the seats they have won to the candidates in the order they appear on their nomination list.

Political party	Number of London- wide votes	% of London- wide votes	Included in seat allocation? (Do they have more than 5% of the vote?)	Number of constituency seats won
Abolish the Congestion Charge	63,596	2.60	×	0
British National Party	130,714	5.42	\checkmark	0
Christian Choice	70,294	2.91	×	0
Conservative Party	835,535	34.63	✓	8
English Democrats	25,569	1.06	×	0
Green Party	203,465	8.43	✓	0
Labour Party	665,443	27.58	✓	6
Left List	22,583	0.94	×	0
Liberal Democrat	275,272	11.41	\checkmark	0
One London	3,430	0.14	×	0
Respect	59,721	2.48	×	0
UK Independence Party	46,617	1.93	×	0
Unity for Peace and Socialism	6,394	0.26	×	0
Independent (Rathy Alagaratnam)	3,974	0.16	×	0

London Elects, City Hall, The Queen's Walk, London SE1 2AA Tel: 020 7983 4444 / info@londonelects.org.uk 3 of 5

The Office of the Greater London Returning Officer

Seat	British National Party	Conservative Party	Green Party	Labour Party	Liberal Democrat	Winner
Seat 1	130,714 / (0+1) =	835,535 / (8+1) =	203,465 / (0+1) =	665,443 / (6+1) =	275,272 / (0+1) =	Liberal Democrat
	130,714	92,837.22	203,465	95,063.29	275,272	
Seat 2	130,714 / (0+1) =	835,535 / (8+1) =	203,465 / (0+1) =	665,443 / (6+1) =	275,272 / (1+1) =	Green Party
	130,714	92,837.22	203,465	95,063.29	137,636	
Seat 3	130,714 / (0+1) =	835,535 / (8+1) =	203,465 / (1+1) =	665,443 / (6+1) =	275,272 / (1+1) =	Liberal Democrat
	130,714	92,837.22	101,732.5 0	95,063.29	137,636	
Seat 4	130,714 / (0+1) =	835,535 / (8+1) =	203,465 / (1+1) =	665,443 / (6+1) =	275,272 / (2+1) =	British National Party
	130,714	92,837.22	101,732.5 0	95,063.29	91,757.33	
Seat 5	130,714 / (1+1) =	835,535 / (8+1) =	203,465 / (1+1) =	665,443 / (6+1) =	275,272 / (2+1) =	Green Party
	65,357	92,837.22	101,732.5 0	95,063.29	91,757.33	
Seat 6	130,714 / (1+1) =	835,535 / (8+1) =	203,465 / (2+1) =	665,443 / (6+1) =	275,272 / (2+1) =	Labour Party
	65,357	92,837.22	67,821.67	95,063.29	91,757.33	
Seat 7	130,714 / (1+1) =	835,535 / (8+1) =	203,465 / (2+1) =	665,443 / (7+1) =	275,272 / (2+1) =	Conservative Party
	65,357	92,837.22	67,821.67	83,180.38	91,757.33	
Seat 8	130,714 / (1+1) =	835,535 / (9+1) =	203,465 / (2+1) =	665,443 / (7+1) =	275,272 / (2+1) =	Liberal Democrat
	65,357	83,553.50	67,821.67	83,180.38	91,757.33	
Seat 9	130,714 / (1+1) =	835,535 / (9+1) =	203,465 / (2+1) =	665,443 / (7+1) =	275,272 / (3+1) =	Conservative Party
	65,357	83,553.50	67,821.67	83,180.38	68,818.00	
Seat 10	130,714 / (1+1) =	835,535 / (10+1) =	203,465 / (2+1) =	665,443 / (7+1) =	275,272 / (3+1) =	Labour Party
	65,357	75,957.73	67,821.67	83,180.38	68,818.00	

2008 London-wide Assembly Member seat allocation

London Elects, City Hall, The Queen's Walk, London SE1 2AA Tel: 020 7983 4444 / info@londonelects.org.uk

The Office of the Greater London Returning Officer

Seat 11	130,714 / (1+1) =	835,535 / (10+1) =	203,465 / (2+1) =	665,443 / (8+1) =	275,272 / (3+1) =	Conservative Party
	65,357	75,957.73	67,821.67	73,938.11	68,818.00	
Total seats	1	3	2	2	3	

2008 London-wide Assembly Members elected

Seat	Party	Candidate
Seat 1	Liberal Democrat	Michael Tuffrey
Seat 2	Green Party	Jenny Jones
Seat 3	Liberal Democrat	Dee Doocey
Seat 4	British National Party	Richard Barnbrook
Seat 5	Green Party	Darren Johnson
Seat 6	Labour Party	Nicky Gavron
Seat 7	Conservative Party	Andrew Boff
Seat 8	Liberal Democrat	Caroline Pidgeon
Seat 9	Conservative Party	Victoria Borwick
Seat 10	Labour Party	Murad Qureshi
Seat 11	Conservative Party	Gareth Bacon

Overall London Assembly 2008 result

Party	Seats	Gain / Loss (from 2004 election)
British National Party	1	+1
Conservative Party	11	+2
Green Party	2	0
Labour Party	8	+1
Liberal Democrats	3	-2

London Elects, City Hall, The Queen's Walk, London SE1 2AA Tel: 020 7983 4444 / info@londonelects.org.uk