

Kleinheubacher Tagung 2024 Miltenberg, 24–26 September 2024

4th Call for Papers

The Kleinheubacher Tagung 2024 of the U.R.S.I. Landesausschuss in Deutschland e.V. will take place at the Old Townhall (Altes Rathaus)in Miltenberg, Germany, from 24 to 26 September 2024. Conference languages are English and German.

In 2024, the U.R.S.I. Landesausschuss in Deutschland e.V. celebrates its 70th anniversary. **Ari Sihvola** (Aalto University and President of URSI) and **Julius Zimmermann** (University of Pavia) were invited as **plenary speakers**.

Topics:

The list of topics corresponds to the Commissions of the U.R.S.I.:

- A: Electromagnetic Metrology
- B: Fields and Waves
- C: Radio Communication Systems and Signal Processing
- D: Electronics and Photonics
- E: Electromagnetic Environment and Interference
- F: Wave Propagation and Remote Sensing
- G: Ionospheric Radio and Propagation
- H: Waves in Plasmas
- J: Radio Astronomy
- K: Electromagnetics in Biology and Medicine

Regular Contributions (Talk):

Authors are asked to submit regular contributions by **7 July 2024** via <u>https://kh2024.edas.info/</u> stating: title, author(s), abstract (in English or German; text only; no more than 500 words; no figures, equations, etc.) and the Commission related to the topic of the contribution. Acceptance notification will be sent by **28 July 2024**.

Prospectively, this year, again, in addition to the regular contribution authors may submit a conference paper (2-4 pages, IEEE conference proceedings style) via https://kh2024.edas.info/ latest by **6 October 2024**. After the usual peer review, this paper will be submitted to the IEEE Xplore Digital Library shortly after the conference, provided that the conference presentation actually took place.

Young Scientist Awards:

Scientists born in 1989 or later are invited to participate at the Young Scientist Award Program of the Kleinheubacher Tagung 2024. Applications and supporting materials are to be submitted by **7 July 2024** via <u>https://kh2024.edas.info/</u> in the indicated field on the website. Details can be found on page two of this call for papers.

Call for Organization of Special Sessions:

Proposals for topic-specific special sessions are very welcome. Organizers should contact the Conference Chair (see below) by **7 July 2024** with the session title and the planned presentations.

Further Information:

Additional information about the conference site, accommodation, the conference program, and registration is given on the conference website <u>www.kh2024.de</u>.

General Chair (on behalf of the U.R.S.I. Landesausschuss in Deutschland e.V.): Prof. Dr.-Ing. Simon Adrian, Fakultät für Informatik und Elektrotechnik, Universität Rostock, 18051 Rostock, E-Mail: <u>kht2024@uni-rostock.de</u>



Union Radio-Scientifique Internationale

International Union of Radio Science

U.R.S.I. Landesausschuss in Deutschland e.V

President: Ludger Klinkenbusch Secretary: Eckard Bogenfeld

Program Committee:

General Chair: Simon Adrian

Technical Program Chair: Ulrich Jakobus

Award Committee Chair: Alexander Kraus

Commission Chairs: Thomas Kleine-Ostmann (A) Herbert De Gersem (B) André Buchau (C) Dirk Killat (D) Frank Gronwald (E) Madhu Chandra (F) Ralph Latteck (G) Christian Vocks (H) Alexander Kraus (J) Lars Ole Fichte (K)



Important Dates:

By 7 July 2024:

By 30 August 2024: 24–26 September 2024: By 6 October 2024: Submission of Documents for the Young Scientist Award Proposals for special sessions Submission of regular contributions, both for regular and special sessions Early registration at reduced conference fee Kleinheubacher Tagung 2024 Submission of conference papers (optional)

Young Scientist Awards / Young Scientist Best Paper Awards on the Occasion of the Kleinheubacher Tagung 2024

As part of our continuing commitment to encouraging the next generation of early-stage researchers, we will offer up to 10 *Young Scientist Awards* including three *Young Scientist Best Paper Awards* during the course of the conference.

The selection of Young Scientist Award (YSA) recipients will be based upon an examination of the documents submitted. Besides originality and creativity, form and clarity of the presented work will be assessed. The YSA includes a certificate, a waiver of conference fees, and a

Prize money of 250 €.

All YSA recipients are required to give a talk within the scope of the regular conference program. **Additionally**, they have the possibility to present their contribution at a special YSA Poster Session. During this posters session, the contributions will be evaluated by an Award Committee. The top three contributions will be awarded a Young Scientist Best Paper Award (YS-BPA). In addition to a certificate and the stated prize money, the recipients will receive:

750 €	(1 st Prize),
500 €	(2 nd Prize), and
250 €	(3 rd Prize).

All YSA und YS-BPA recipients will be honored during the Kleinheubacher Tagung 2024.

Terms of Eligibility

Scientists born 1989 or later holding a Diploma or Master degree at the minimum are invited to apply. The following documents, written either in German or English, are to be submitted via https://kh2024.edas.info/ under the category "Young Scientist Award" no later than **7 July 2024**:

- a) Extended Abstract (3 pages plus bibliography; using IEEE Manuscript Template for Conference Proceedings, download-site: <u>https://www.ieee.org/conferences/publishing/templates.html</u>)
- b) Supplementary documentation (one pdf file), consisting of
 - a curriculum vitae and
 - a letter of endorsement (1 page maximum) from a faculty member or a member of the U.R.S.I. Landesausschuss in Deutschland e.V.

All applicants will be notified by **20 August 2024**.

Questions and other correspondence are to be directed to the Chair of the Award Committee, Dr. Alexander Kraus, Max Planck Institute for Radio Astronomy - Radio Observatory Effelsberg -, Max-Planck-Straße 28, 53902 Bad Münstereifel-Effelsberg, Germany, at <u>akraus@mpifr.de</u>.

