Policy for Test-of-Time Awards for FSE/ToSC*

FSE Steering Committee

December 2022

The FSE Test-of-Time Award is given yearly.

1 Eligibility

To be eligible for the award given in year X for a particular conference, a paper must have been presented at FSE in year X-15. Papers authored or co-authored by current members of the award committee are not eligible to receive the award that year.

2 Criteria

The Test-of-Time Award recognizes papers that have had a lasting impact on the field.

3 Nomination

Nominations are not necessary, the committee will consider and choose the eligible papers as it wishes. In addition any person can nominate a paper for the award. Nominations should come with a short justification (at most two pages).

4 Selection

The selection is performed by a Test-of-Time Award Committee for the particular conference. The committee will implement its selection autonomously, and no further instructions are given beyond what is stated in this document.

5 Number of awards

Usually one paper will receive the award, but exceptions are possible with approval of the chair of the FSE steering committee.

6 Committee

The test-of-time award committee for the award given in year X consists of five members:

• Three members, including the chair of the award committee, appointed by the FSE steering committee.

^{*}based on IACR Policy for Test-of-Time Awards for General Conferences.

• One program chair of FSE in year (X-15) and one program chair of FSE in year X. In case of co-chairs, the committee chair together with the co-chairs decide on one member.

The appointed committee chair is responsible for organizing the selection process and announcing how nominations may be submitted.

7 Ceremony

The Test-of-Time award will be presented at FSE X. It is not foreseen to have a corresponding technical talk or paper.