CONTENTS

List of Tables and Figures	vii
Acknowledgements	xi
List of Abbreviations	xiii
Introduction Devesh Kapur, Pratap Bhanu Mehta, and Milan Vaishna	uv
1. The Presidency James Manor	33
2. Parliament M.R. Madhavan	67
3. The Supreme Court Madhav Khosla and Ananth Padmanabhan	104
4. Reserve Bank of India: The Way Forward Errol D'Souza	139
5. Reforming India's Institutions of Public Expenditu Governance Nirvikar Singh	180
6. New Regulatory Institutions in Infrastructure: From De-politicization to Creative Politics Navroz K. Dubash	m 225

vi Contents

7.	Institutions of Internal Accountability R. Sridharan	269
8.	Foregrounding Financial Accountability in Governance Amitabh Mukhopadhyay	297
9.	The Civil Service K.P. Krishnan and T.V. Somanathan	339
10.	Election Commission of India E. Sridharan and Milan Vaishnav	417
11.	Re-energizing Democratic Decentralization in India T.R. Raghunandan	464
Inde	ex	509
Abo	out the Editors and Contributors	523