

## **Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment**

Distr.: General 9 July 2024

Original: English

## **Committee against Torture**

## Decision adopted by the Committee under article 22 of the Convention, concerning communication No. 831/2017\*, \*\*

Communication submitted by:	J.S. (represented by counsel, Rajwinder S. Bhambi)
Alleged victim:	The complainant
State party:	Canada
Date of complaint:	28 June 2017 (initial submission)
Substantive issues:	Deportation to India; risk of torture

At its meeting on 19 April 2024, the Committee, having received information from the State party to the effect that the complainant had been granted a residence permit and that there was no longer a risk of him being deported, decided to discontinue the consideration of communication No. 831/2017.

<sup>\*\*</sup> The following members of the Committee participated in the examination of the communication: Todd Buchwald, Jorge Contesse, Claude Heller, Erdogan Iscan, Peter Vedel Kessing, Liu Huawen, Maeda Naoko, Ana Racu, Abderrazak Rouwane and Bakhtiyar Tuzmukhamedov.



<sup>\*</sup> Adopted by the Committee at its seventy-ninth session (15 April-10 May 2024).