IEEE Signal Processing Society Technical Achievement Award (formerly known as the Achievement Award)

The Technical Achievement Award honors a person who, over a period of years, has made outstanding technical contributions to theory and/or practice in technical areas within the scope of the Society, as demonstrated by publications, patents, or recognized impact on the field.

2015	Li Deng, for outstanding contributions to deep learning and to automatic speech recognition.
2014	Moeness G. Amin, for fundamental contributions to signal processing algorithms for communications, satellite navigations, and radar imaging.
	Richard G. Baraniuk, for contributions to the Theory and Applications of Sparsity and Compressive Sensing.
2013	Yonina Eldar, for fundamental contributions to sub-nyquist and compressed sampling, convex optimization and statistical signal processing.
	Al Hero, for information-theoretic advances in statistical signal processing and machine learning.
2012	Shih-Fu Chang, for pioneering contributions to signal processing for multimedia content analysis and retrieval.
	Ali H. Sayed, for fundamental contributions to adaptive and statistical signal processing.
2011	Bernd Girod, for his contributions to the theory and practice of video communications, search and processing.
	Björn Ottersten, for contributions in array signal processing and wireless communications.
2010	Aggelos Katsaggelos, for outstanding contributions to the fields of image and video processing.
	José M. F. Moura, for fundamental contributions to statistical signal processing.
2009	K. J. Ray Liu, for pioneering and outstanding contributions for the advances of signal processing in multimedia forensics, security, and wireless communications.
	Alan S. Willsky, for originality and innovation in stochastic mutliresolution modeling in statistical and graphical modeling, and in probabilistic control- driven signal processing.
2008	Harry L. Van Trees, for fundamental contributions to detection, estimation, and modulation theory, sensor array processing, and Bayesian bounds.
	Michael Unser, for the contributions to the theory and practice of splines and their applications in signal and image processing.
2007	H. Vincent Poor, for fundamental contributions to statistical signal processing and its applications in wireless communications and related fields.
2006	Chin-hui Lee, for exceptional contributions to the field of automatic speech recognition.

	Arye Nehorai, for fundamental contributions to sensor array processing with applications to radar, sonar, biomedicine, and the environment.
2005	Alan Bovik, for broad and lasting contributions to the field of digital image processing.
	Hermann Ney, for contributions to the advancement of the theory and performance of speech and language technology, including language modeling, search algorithms and machine translation.
2004	Edward J. Delp, for sustained and meritorious contributions in the fields of image, video coding and watermarking.
	Stephen J. Young, for outstanding contributions to the advancement of the theory and performance of speech technology, including speech recognition, spoken language understanding, and dialog systems.
2003	Johann Bohme, for contributions to statistical signal and array processing.
	Arogyaswami J. Paulraj, for pioneering contributions to wireless communication systems, with emphasis to smart antenna technology and related signal processing techniques.
2002	Henrique S. Malvar, for development of lapped transforms and contributions to audio and video coding techniques.
	Michael D. Zoltowski, for fundamental contributions to two-dimensional direction-of-arrival estimation and space-time channel modeling and equalization.
2001	P. P. Vaidyanathan, for fundamental contributions to filter bank theory and design.
	Martin Vetterli, for technical leadership and fundamental contributions to the fields of multiresolution signal analysis and signal processing, compression, and transmission.
2000	Rama Chellappa, for contributions to image processing and computer vision.
	Georgios B. Giannakis, for fundamental contributions to non-Gaussian and non-stationary signal analysis, system identification, and equalization of single and multi-user communication systems.
1999	John R. Treichler, for outstanding contributions and technical leadership in application of signal processing techniques to communication applications.
	Donald W. Tufts, for fundamental contributions in array signal processing and parametric spectrum analysis.
1998	Biing-Hwang Juang, for outstanding theoretical contribution and technical leadership in speech processing and neural network signal processing.
	Hugo De Man, for contributions to design automation of digital signal processing systems.
1997	Robert M. Gray, for his seminal contributions to source coding, including work in rate-distortion theory and quantizer design, as well as for his work in medical image processing.
	Boaz Porat, for outstanding contributions to Statistical Signal Processing.
1996	Petre Stoica, for fundamental contributions to statistical signal processing with applications in time series analysis, system identification, and array

	signal processing.
	Murat Kunt, for sustained contributions to image sequence processing and coding.
1995	Sanjit K. Mitra, for fundamental and sustained contributions to signal processing research and graduate education.
	Teuvo Kohonen, for outstanding contributions to the theory and application of associative memories, artificial neural networks, and pattern recognition.
1994	Thomas P. Barnwell, III, for contributions to the areas of speech processing, filter banks and filter design, and multiprocessor architectures.
	Louis L. Scharf, for advances in the theory and application of statistical signal processing.
1993	John W. Woods, for significant and sustained contributions to image processing.
	David G. Messerschmitt, for contributions to adaptive filters, VLSI architectures and software, and applications of digital signal processing to communications systems.
1992	S. Y. Kung, for contributions to parallel and neural network signal processing algorithms.
1991	R.A. Roberts.
1990	R. W. Broderson.
1989	B. Friedlander.
1988	T. Kailath.
1987	J.B. Allan, T.S. Huang.
1986	J. H. McClellan.
1985	C. S. Burrus.
1984	B. Liu.
1983	L. B. Jackson.
1982	J. Makhoul.
1981	K. Steiglitz.
1980	T. W. Parks.
1979	R. W. Schafer.

1978	L. R. Rabiner.
1977	A.H. Gray, J.F. Kaiser, J.D. Markel.
1976	A.V. Oppenheim, C. Rader.
1975	B.S. Atal, J.W. Cooley.
1974	None selected.
1973	None selected.
1972	B. Gold.
1971	J.L. Flanagan.
1970	W.W. Lang.
1969	H.B. Knowles.
1968	M.S. Corrington.
1967	D. von Recklinghausen.
1966	None selected.
	Achievement Award (forerunner of Technical Achievement Award)
1965	H. H. Scott.
1964	C. D. Mee.
1963	D. F. Eldridge.
1962	J. K. Hilliard.
1961	J. R. Macdonald.
1960	W. B. Snow.
1959	A. B. Bereskin, P.C. Goldmark.
1958	D.W. Martin.

1957	M. Camras.
1956	H.E. Roys.
1955	H.F. Olson.
1954	B.B. Bauer.