European Parliament

2019-2024



TEXTS ADOPTED

P9_TA(2020)0002

Protocol between the EU, Iceland and Norway to the Agreement concerning the criteria and mechanisms for establishing the State responsible for examining a request for asylum lodged in a Member State or in Iceland or Norway regarding the access to Eurodac for law enforcement purposes ***

European Parliament legislative resolution of 15 January 2020 on the draft Council decision on the conclusion of the Protocol between the European Union, Iceland and the Kingdom of Norway to the Agreement between the European Community and the Republic of Iceland and the Kingdom of Norway concerning the criteria and mechanisms for establishing the State responsible for examining a request for asylum lodged in a Member State or in Iceland or Norway regarding access to Eurodac for law enforcement purposes (15791/2018 – C9-0155/2019 – 2018/0419(NLE))

(Consent)

The European Parliament,

- having regard to the draft Council decision (15791/2018),
- having regard to the draft Protocol between the European Union, Iceland and the Kingdom of Norway to the Agreement between the European Community and the Republic of Iceland and the Kingdom of Norway concerning the criteria and mechanisms for establishing the State responsible for examining a request for asylum lodged in a Member State or in Iceland or Norway regarding access to Eurodac for law enforcement purposes (15792/2018),
- having regard to the request for consent submitted by the Council in accordance with Article 87(2), point (a), Article 88(2), first subparagraph, point (a) and Article 218(6), second subparagraph, point (a), of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union (C9-0155/2019),
- having regard to Rule 105(1) and (4) and Rule 114(7) of its Rules of Procedure,
- having regard to the recommendation of the Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs (A9-0053/2019),
- 1. Gives its consent to the conclusion of the protocol;
- 2. Instructs its President to forward its position to the Council, the Commission and the governments and parliaments of the Member States and of Iceland and the Kingdom of Norway.