Persons present: G. Baribaud, D.C. Fiander, W. Heinze, H. Koziol, A. Krusche, G. Schneider, C. Serre, R. Sherwood

\* \* \* \* \* \* \*

#### 1. SEM-GRIDS

1.1 Situation

There are 6 SG's in the TT2 line

No.	1.	MSG.	258			SPS Type
No.	2.	MSG	268	Z	•	(Dieperink)
No.	3.	MSG	278	)		
No.	4.	MSG	329	)		
No.	5.	MSG	349	- Y		ISR Type
No.	6.	MSG	369	)		

There is 1 in the AA ejection line :

No. 7. MSG 2509 SPS Type and

2 in the PS ejection line FA 58 :

No. 8. MSG 038 | ISR Type No. 9. MSG 057 |

1.2 Decisions

- SG No. 7 MSG 2509 will be linked to the acquisition system of Nos. 1, 2 and 3.
- The acquisition system (Dieperink) will be treated as "intelligent device" and as such connected to the PS controls system via a RS 232 link.
- The total system must be operational on 31st August, 1984 for the SPS pp MD, preceding collider operation, in such a manner that not only one person can operate it.
- The SG's Nos. 1, 2 and 3 have to deliver the horizontal and vertical profiles and the emittances. From SG No. 7 only the profiles are desired.

- The SG's Nos. 4, 5, 6, 8 and 9 will be controlled via existing CAMAC interface from the main consoles as already provided.
- The software for evaluation and presentation of both acquisition systems must be flexible. It will be established in collaboration between J. Dieperink, Ch. Serre/C.H. Sicard and G.C. Schneider.
- For the time being, no effort can be invested into the upgrading of SG's Nos. 8 and 9 for use on  $\tilde{p}$  beams. In any case, 3 SG's, belonging to SPS, are a downstream in TT 70.
- G.C. Schneider was asked to take the responsibility for the 9 SEM-Grids. Ch. Serre is responsible for the controls software.

## 2. MAGNETIC PU's (UMA)

It was decided that the UMA's in TT2 are no longer of interest. They can be removed.

# 3. SCINTILLATOR + TV

As 1 TV screen is needed in section 201 of TT2, the UMA 201 will be replaced by a new TV screen MTV 201. (resp. : M. Van Rooy, Ch. Serre for software).

## G.C. Schneider

## Distribution:

Persons present

- J. Boillot
- E. Brouzet
- F. Perriollat
- P. Têtu
- M. Van Rooy